Zurück zur Übersicht
  • Ab 55 € versandkostenfrei (innerhalb DE)
  • DHL Versand - Auslieferung auch Samstags
  • Über 60.000 Artikel direkt ab Lager lieferbar.

The Ames Brothers Together 2-CD

Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn der Artikel lieferbar ist.

Artikel-Nr.: CDJAS434

Gewicht in Kg: 0,200


Artikel derzeit nicht verfügbar, Lieferfristen von bis zu 2-3 Wochen sind zu erwarten. (soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten - kann aber auch schneller gehen)

9,95 € *

The Ames Brothers: Together 2-CD



The Ames Brothers - Together 2-CD Medium 1
1: I'm Gonna Love You
2: It Only Hurts For A Little While
3: Wrong Again
4: The Cradle Song
5: My Bonnie Lassie
6: Southern Cross
7: So Will I
8: The Game Of Love
9: One More Time
10: The Next Time It Happens
11: The Man With The Banjo
12: Too-Ra-Loo-Ra-Loo-Ral
13: Merci Beaucoup
14: Forever Darling
15: Once Upon A Tune
16: I Saw Esau
17: My Love, Your Love
18: Gotta Be This Or That
19: Let's Walk And Talk
20: I Got A Cold For Christmas
21: Time For Sleeping
22: If You Want My Heart
23: The Naughty Lady Of Shady Lane
24: Sympathetic Eyes
25: That's The Way Love Goes
26: Autumn Leaves
27: Why Do I Keep Lovin' You?
28: You And I
29: Sweet Brown-Eyed Baby
30: I Hadn't Anyone Till You
31: Together
The Ames Brothers - Together 2-CD Medium 2
1: Everything's Gonna Be All Right
2: Lonely Wine  
3: Too Many Women  
4: Absence Makes The Heart Grow Fonder  
5: Somewhere There Must Be Happiness  
6: Break The Bonds That Bind Me  
7: Blue Prelude  
8: This Is Fiesta  
9: Far Away Places  
10: Joshua Fit De Battle Of Jerico  
11: And So I Waited Around  
12: Crazy 'cause I Love You  
13: Tumblin' Tumbleweeds  
14: Just A Dream Of You, Dear  
15: Who Built The Ark?  
16: White Christmas  
17: Winter Wonderland  
18: Sing A Song Of Santa Claus  
19: Winter's Here Again  
20: Jolly Old St. Nicholas  
21: Ting-A-Ling-A-Jingle  
22: God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen  
23: Hark! The Herald Angels Sing  
24: O Little Town Of Bethlehem  
25: Adeste Fideles  
26: It Came Upon A Midnight Clear  
27: Silent Night, Holy Night  
28: Twelve Days Of Christmas  
29: Wassail Song  


Artikeleigenschaften von The Ames Brothers: Together 2-CD

  • Interpret: The Ames Brothers

  • Albumtitel: Together 2-CD

  • Artikelart CD

  • Genre Pop

  • Music Genre Pop
  • Music Style Pop Vocal
  • Music Sub-Genre 281 Pop Vocal
  • Label JASMINE

  • Preiscode JAS
  • SubGenre Pop - Vocal Pop

  • EAN: 0604988043426

  • Gewicht in Kg: 0.200

Interpreten-Beschreibung "Ames Brothers, The"

Ames Brothers

Rockin' Shoes

The Ames Brothers were indeed brothers, though their actual family name was Urick. They were a successful and versatile quartet with a distinctive vocal blend and a very recognizable lead vocalist in Ed Ames. They started recording in the late 1940s and had several big hit records, first with Coral (such as the jivey Rag Mop in 1950) and then with RCA (such as the romantic You, You, You in 1953 and the Scottish march My Bonnie Lassie in 1956). They continued to have hit records, but Rockin' Shoes was the closest they got to rock 'n' roll. It was the B-side of their version of Tammy, the title song from a Debbie Reynolds movie (and Debbie's version far outsold theirs).

Rockin' Shoes is a good record. The brothers harmonize in their characteristic style, and they get good pop-rock backing from band leader Joe Reisman (whose work two years earlier on Bo Diddley, Track 19 of this collection, was not so good). The guitar work behind the vocals provides a vaguely Latin-sounding beat that's not exactly a cha-cha, often called a 'rock-a-cha' in those days.

Pop vocal groups of the early 50s usually sang as an ensemble, with an occasional moment of a solo by the lead singer. In the rock 'n' roll era it was more common to have a lead singer doing the tune and the other singers backing that up, sometimes with some repetitive 'doo-wop' figure. Reisman's arrangement on this record combines the two approaches, backing up the ensemble Ames Brothers with the Ray Charles singers.

The songwriters, Augustus Stevenson and 'David Hill' (about whom, more in a minute) had real rock 'n' roll credentials. Together, they wrote Frenzy, recorded by Screamin' Jay Hawkins, and Elvis's hit I Got Stung. 'David Hill' had the original recording of All Shook Up (which was turned into a hit by Elvis) and as 'David Dante' had the original record of a song he co-wrote, Speedy Gonzales (which was turned into a hit by Pat Boone). His real name was David Hess. In addition to songwriting, Hess did some acting and appeared in numerous TV shows and movies.

The song's title and lyric borrow freely from Roy Brown's (and covered by many, including Elvis) Good Rockin' Tonight. Brown wrote, "I want you to bring along my rockin' shoes/'Cause tonight I'm gonna rock away all my blues." The Ames Brothers sing, "we're gonna dance away our blues." They, however, didn't seem to need anyone to deliver their shoes.

Various The Popsters - They Tried To Rock Vol.3
Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über The Ames Brothers - Together 2-CD
Kundenbewertungen für "Together 2-CD"
Bewertungen werden nach Überprüfung freigeschaltet.
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "The Ames Brothers: Together 2-CD"

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Ames Brothers, The: Put Your...

Inhalt: 1.0000

14,95 € * Statt: 15,95 € *

Ames Brothers, The: Put Your...

Inhalt: 1.0000

14,95 € * Statt: 15,95 € *

Zuletzt angesehen