Zurück zur Übersicht
  • Ab 55 € versandkostenfrei (innerhalb DE)
  • DHL Versand - Auslieferung auch Samstags
  • Über 60.000 Artikel direkt ab Lager lieferbar.

Ry Cooder I, Flathead (Deluxe Edition Digibook)

Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn der Artikel lieferbar ist.

Artikel-Nr.: CD465916

Gewicht in Kg: 0,260

24,90 € *

Ry Cooder: I, Flathead (Deluxe Edition Digibook)

(2008/NONESUCH) 14 tracks with 104 page clothbound digibook with a shocking false memoire, lyrics and illustrations. Including the tribute song 'Johnny Cash'


Ry Cooder - I, Flathead (Deluxe Edition Digibook) Medium 1
1: Drive Like I Never Been Hurt  
2: Waitin' For Some Girl  
3: Johnny Cash  
4: Can I Smoke In Here?  
5: Steel Guitar Heaven  
6: Ridin' With The Blues  
7: Pink-O Boogie  
8: Fernando Sez  
9: Spayed Kooley  
10: Filipino Dancehall Girl  
11: My Dwarf Is Getting Tired  
12: Flathead One More Time  
13: 5000 Country Music Songs  
14: Little Trona Girl  


Artikeleigenschaften von Ry Cooder: I, Flathead (Deluxe Edition Digibook)

  • Interpret: Ry Cooder

  • Albumtitel: I, Flathead (Deluxe Edition Digibook)

  • Artikelart CD

  • Genre Country

  • Music Genre Country Music
  • Music Style Americana / Alt.Country / Roots
  • Music Sub-Genre 006 Americana/Alt.Country/Roots
  • Erscheinungsjahr 2008
  • Label NONESUCH

  • SubGenre Country - Alt-Country

  • EAN: 9780981766102

  • Gewicht in Kg: 0.260

Interpreten-Beschreibung "Cooder, Ry"


Taxes On The Farmer Feeds Us All

(traditional-Arr. Ry Cooder)

recorded 1971 at Warner Bros. Amigo Studio, 11114 Cumpston Avenue, North Hollywood, California; produced by Jim Dickinson and Lenny Waronker

with Ry Cooder: vocal, guitar; Van Dyke Parks: piano; Jim Dickinson: harmonium; Chris Ethridge: bass; Jim Keltner: drums

Reprise MS 2052 (LP)


Like Linda Ronstadt and later Emmylou Harris, Ry Cooder was a song collector. In fact, not just songs, but styles. On his first LP, Cooder revived an ancient anti-establishment hillbilly tune, How Can A Poor Man Stand Such Times And Live? On his second, he reinterpreted a late nineteenth century populist broadside, The Farmer Feeds Us All. Fiddlin' John Carson and Pete Seeger had recorded it, as had several others, but it was probably written by Knowles Shaw, a mid-western singing evangelist best known for Bringing In The Sheaves. It appeared in a folio dated 1874, so it was at least that old, but an exhaustive biography of Shaw dating to 1879 fails to mention the song. Carl Sandburg's epic American Songbag and B.A. Botkin's Treasury of American Folklore featured it. The latter version was doctored up by Pete Seeger's father and came closest to the lyrics that Cooder employed. These days, when country music's political agenda is somewhere to the right of Genghis Khan, it's worth remembering the music's populist, anti-capital roots.


Cooder's association with the Rolling Stones, Randy Newman, Captain Beefheart and others had made him into an underground legend. Those of us who analyzed and internalized LP credits knew that he had authored many of the slide guitar solos we treasured, not least the one preceding this track. Taxes On The Farmer came from his second album, 'Into The Purple Valley.' It seemed as if Cooder, more than anyone else, truly understood the American credo E Pluribus Unum. Let's flip through some of the songs on the LP: FDR In Trinidad (Attila the Hun, calypso), Denomination Blues (Washington Phillips, black gospel), Teardrops Will Fall (Dickey Doo & the Donts, white doo wop), Money Honey (Clyde McPhatter & the Drifters, black doo wop), On A Monday (Leadbelly, pre-blues), Great Dreams From Heaven (Joseph Spence, Bahamanian gospel), Vigilante Man (Woody Guthrie, folk), etc. In this age of infinite availability, it's too easy to dismiss the intellectual curiosity and perseverance that led Cooder to this mix. The LP was recorded at Snuff Garrett's former studio, Amigo, and the cover art featured Cooder and his wife, Susie.


Various - Truckers, Kickers, Cowboy Angels Vol.04, The Blissed-Out Birth Of Country Rock 1971 (2-CD)

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über Ry Cooder - I, Flathead (Deluxe Edition Digibook)
Kundenbewertungen für "I, Flathead (Deluxe Edition Digibook)"
Bewertungen werden nach Überprüfung freigeschaltet.
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Ry Cooder: I, Flathead (Deluxe Edition Digibook)"

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Cooder, Ry: I, Flathead

Inhalt: 1.0000

17,90 € *

Zuletzt angesehen