Zurück zur Übersicht
  • Ab 55 € versandkostenfrei (innerhalb DE)
  • DHL Versand - Auslieferung auch Samstags
  • Über 50.000 Artikel direkt ab Lager lieferbar.

The Impressions The Cutrom Anthology 1968 - 1976 2-CD

The Cutrom Anthology 1968 - 1976 2-CD

Artikel-Nr.: CDNEE321

Gewicht in Kg: 0,200


Sofort versandfertig, Lieferzeit** 1-3 Werktage

29,90 € *

The Impressions: The Cutrom Anthology 1968 - 1976 2-CD

(1999/Sequel Records) 45 Songs



Impressions, The - The Cutrom Anthology 1968 - 1976 2-CD CD 1
1: Fool For You
2: I'm Loving Nothing
3: Gone Away
4: This Is My Country
5: The Young Mod's Forgotten Story
6: My Deceiving Heart
7: Seven Years
8: Choice Of Colours
9: Wherever She Leadeth Me
10: You Want Somebody Else
11: Soulful Love
12: Mighty Mighty Spade & Whitey
13: Gypsy Woman
14: Keep On Pushing
15: I'm So Proud
16: Say You Love Me
17: I've Been Trying
18: Amen 70
19: Check Out Your Mind!
20: Madam Mary
21: Can't You See
22: You're Really Something, Sadie
23: (Baby) Turn On To Me
24: We Must Be In Love
Impressions, The - The Cutrom Anthology 1968 - 1976 2-CD CD 2
1: Love Me
2: Times Have Changed
3: This Love's For Real
4: Our Love Goes On & On
5: Preacher Man
6: Color Us Gray (I'm Lost)
7: Thin Line
8: If It's In You To Do Wrong


Artikeleigenschaften von The Impressions: The Cutrom Anthology 1968 - 1976 2-CD

  • Interpret: The Impressions

  • Albumtitel: The Cutrom Anthology 1968 - 1976 2-CD

  • Artikelart CD

  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Music Genre Soul
  • Music Style Soul
  • Music Sub-Genre 254 Soul
  • Label CASTLE

  • SubGenre R&B Music - Soul

  • EAN: 5023224232120

  • Gewicht in Kg: 0.200

Interpreten-Beschreibung "Impressions, The"

The Impressions

Gypsy Woman

Without the richly burnished baritone leads of Jerry Butler, who had fronted their soulful breakthrough ballad For Your Precious Love (you'll find it on our 1958 disc), The Impressions were finding it hard to come up with a second hit. Butler had quit the Chicago group amidst jealousy from some members over Vee-Jay Records unexpectedly giving him featured billing on the single.

Chicago native Curtis Mayfield, all of 16 when he played guitar and sang high tenor behind The Ice Man on For Your Precious Love, took over lead duties for The Impressions. He'd attended Wells High School while living in Cabrini-Green, the massive housing project on Chicago's near North Side. Even before that, he doo-wopped with The Alphatones on the West Side and sang hymns with the Northern Jubilee Gospel Singers. That's where he took up guitar, tuning his axe to a very unusual F# chord that gave Mayfield his highly distinctive sound.

The Impressions brought Fred Cash up from Chattanooga, Tennessee to replace Butler. He'd been in The Roosters there along with tenor-singing brothers Arthur and Richard Brooks and baritone Sam Gooden, who now comprised the rest of The Impressions. With Mayfield's airy high tenor out front, the quintet stuck around Vee-Jay's Abner label for a short while, but A&R man Calvin Carter didn't care for Curtis as a front man, so they were dropped. The Impressions made a single for Bandera Records, owned by Vi Muszynski, who had brought them to Vee-Jay in the first place, but Listen didn't reverse their fading fortunes. Curtis took a break to tour as Butler's guitarist, the pair co-writing three major R&B sellers for Jerry at Vee-Jay in 1960-61: the R&B chart-topping He Will Break Your Heart, Find Another Girl, and I'm A Telling You.

"In the writing of them, we would mess around, he would wind up singing the hook with me. So we decided to record 'em that way, and it turned out very well," says Butler. "I think a lot of that had to do with the way Curtis played guitar."

Eddie Thomas brought The Impressions to the major label ABC-Paramount, recording in New York with arranger/conductor Roy Glover, Jr., who decorated Mayfield's exotic Gypsy Woman with castanets and hushed backing. Cut in July of 1961, Gypsy Woman was a #2 R&B/#20 pop hit late that year (another Mayfield ballad, As Long As You Love Me, was its flip side). The Impressions were back.

Various Street Corner Symphonies 1961 Vol.13
Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über The Impressions - The Cutrom Anthology 1968 - 1976 2-CD
Kundenbewertungen für "The Cutrom Anthology 1968 - 1976 2-CD"
Bewertungen werden nach Überprüfung freigeschaltet.
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "The Impressions: The Cutrom Anthology 1968 - 1976 2-CD"

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Zuletzt angesehen