Zurück zur Übersicht
  • Ab 55 € versandkostenfrei (innerhalb DE)
  • DHL Versand - Auslieferung auch Samstags
  • Über 60.000 Artikel direkt ab Lager lieferbar.

Gladys & The Pips Knight Gold (2005 Edition) 2-CD

Artikel-Nr.: CD9832778

Gewicht in Kg: 0,200


Sofort versandfertig, Lieferzeit** 1-3 Werktage

14,90 € *

Gladys & The Pips Knight: Gold (2005 Edition) 2-CD

(2005/UNIVERSAL AUS) 40 tracks 1961-73 with 20 page booklet


Gladys & The Pips Knight - Gold (2005 Edition) 2-CD Medium 1
1: Every Beat Of My Heart  
2: Letter Full Of Tears  
3: Giving Up  
4: Just Walk In My Shoes  
5: Since I've Lost You  
6: Take Me In Your Arms And Love Me  
7: Everybody Needs Love  
8: I Heard It Through The Grapevine  
9: The End Of Our Road  
10: Don't Let Her Take Your Love From Me  
11: All I Could Do Was Cry  
12: It Should Have Been Me  
13: I Wish It Would Rain  
14: Didn't You Know (You'd Have To Cry Sometime)  
15: Got Myself A Good Man  
16: I Want Him To Say It Again  
17: The Nitty Gritty  
18: (I Know) I'm Losing You  
19: Cloud Nine  
20: Every Little Bit Hurts  
21: Billy Come On Back As Quick As You Can  
22: It's Bad For Me To See You  
Gladys & The Pips Knight - Gold (2005 Edition) 2-CD Medium 2
1: Friendship Train  
2: The Tracks Of My Tears  
3: You Need Love Like I Do (Don't You?)  
4: If I Were Your Woman  
5: I Don't Want To Do Wrong  
6: It's All Over But The Shoutin'  
7: Somebody Stole The Sunshine  
8: For Once In My Life  
9: Feeling Alright  
10: Make Me The Woman That You Go Home To  
11: If You Gonna Leave (Just Leave  
12: Help Me Make It Through The Night  
13: Neither One Of Us (Wants To Be The First...)  
14: Daddy Could Swear, I Declare  
15: Can't Give It Up No More  
16: All I Need Is Time  
17: The Only Time You Love Me  
18: Is When You're Losing Me  
19: Between Her Goodbye And My Hello  


Artikeleigenschaften von Gladys & The Pips Knight: Gold (2005 Edition) 2-CD

  • Interpret: Gladys & The Pips Knight

  • Albumtitel: Gold (2005 Edition) 2-CD

  • Artikelart CD

  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Music Genre Soul
  • Music Style Soul
  • Music Sub-Genre 254 Soul

  • SubGenre R&B Music - Soul

  • EAN: 0602498327784

  • Gewicht in Kg: 0.200

Interpreten-Beschreibung "Knight, Gladys & The Pips"

Gladys Knight & The Pips

Eine der besten Soulsängerinnen der Welt, bei uns in Deutschland aber leider viel zu unterbewertet und zu unbekannt. Kaum eine andere Soulsängerin erreicht eine so intensiv gefühlsbetonte Aussagekraft in ihrer Stimme wie Gladys Knight. Zu vergleichen ist mit ihr eigentlich nur noch Roberta Fiack. Aus dem Song „Help me make it through the Night" von Kris Kristofferson machte sie ein Kunstwerk. Diese Platte machte sie auch in England endgültig zum Star. Seitdem ist jede ihrer Platten dort ein Hit - verdientermaßen.

Seit 1961 nimmt Gladys Knight in Amerika Platten auf, seitdem wird sie auch von den Pips, ihrer Begleitgruppe, unterstützt. ln dieser Band spielte auch zeitweise Johnny Bristol mit. Er stieg aus, um eine Solokarriere anzustreben und schaffte es tatsächlich 1974 mit „Hang on in there Baby'. ln Amerika gehört Gladys Knight zu den Spitzenstars. „The Way we were' war ihr größter Erfolg 1975 - ebenfalls ein Kunstwerk des Soul, sanft gehaucht und niemals aggressiv.

Original Presse-Info: Metronome Records GmbH

Gladys Knight & The Pips

I Heard It Through The Grapevine

Gladys Knight & The Pips

I Heard It Through The Grapevine


After giving Motown its first national hit with his pounding Money (That's What I Want) in 1960, Barrett Strong took a hiatus from Hitsville, working as a songwriter in Chicago. That's where he found the inspiration for one of Motown's greatest hits.

"I was walking down Michigan Avenue, and the idea just popped into my mind. I heard people say it all the time: 'I heard it through the grapevine.' Nobody wrote a song about it, so I sat at a piano and came up with the bass line. And the melody came back," says Barrett, who rejoined Motown in 1966 and got together with producer Norman Whitfield. "Norman said, 'What do you have, man?' I showed it to him. He said, 'I'll cut that!'"  It was the auspicious beginning of a most fruitful partnership.

Whitfield produced a version of Grapevine by The Miracles that sat on the shelf. His ominous minor-key production of the song by Marvin Gaye initially met the same unjust fate. Undaunted, Norman next turned to Gladys Knight & The Pips. The veteran Atlanta vocal group—Gladys (born there on May 28, 1944), her older brother Merald 'Bubba' Knight, and their cousins William Guest and Edward Patten had scored a #1 R&B smash with Every Beat Of My Heart for Vee-Jay in direct competition with their own remake on Fury, then posted another hit for Fury at year's end with Letter Full Of Tears. They landed at Motown in 1966 against Gladys' better judgment.

"I said, 'I don't want to go over there. We've been fine up to now, creating our own avenues, our own following,'" says Gladys, who was outvoted three-to-one. The hits began to come on Motown's Soul logo in '67 with the Whitfield-helmed Everybody Needs Love. Then Norman handed the group Grapevine, now arranged as a raveup gospel workout mirroring Aretha Franklin's Respect.

"We took the track home, man. We would rehearse that thing night and day, in the morning and at night," says Bubba. "(Norman) said, 'How y'all comin' with that song I gave you, "Grapevine?"' And we went over to the studio one day at Motown and we sung it for him. We put the tape recorder on and we sung what we had on there. And he said, 'Good God! Get me a studio right now!'" Gladys' incendiary lead and The Pips' impeccably harmonized replies were surrounded by a complex intro played by two drummers and Hank Cosby's wailing sax solo. Grapevine was a #1 R&B/#2 pop smash for Gladys and the Pips, yet Gaye's version would do even better only a year later.

- Bill Dahl -

Various - Sweet Soul Music

Various - Sweet Soul Music 30 Scorching Classics From 1967

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über Gladys & The Pips Knight - Gold (2005 Edition) 2-CD
Kundenbewertungen für "Gold (2005 Edition) 2-CD"
Bewertungen werden nach Überprüfung freigeschaltet.
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Gladys & The Pips Knight: Gold (2005 Edition) 2-CD"

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Zuletzt angesehen