Zurück zur Übersicht
  • Ab 55 € versandkostenfrei (innerhalb DE)
  • DHL Versand - Auslieferung auch Samstags
  • Über 60.000 Artikel direkt ab Lager lieferbar.

Robert Jr. Lockwood The Complete Trix Recordings (2-CD)

The Complete Trix Recordings (2-CD)
Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn der Artikel lieferbar ist.

Artikel-Nr.: CD173122

Gewicht in Kg: 0,200

18,90 € *

Robert Jr. Lockwood: The Complete Trix Recordings (2-CD)



Robert Jr. Lockwood - The Complete Trix Recordings (2-CD) Medium 1
1: Little Boy Blue  
2: Come Day, Go Day  
3: Annie's Boogie  
4: Driving Wheel  
5: Funny, But True  
6: Mr Down Child  
7: Lonely Man  
8: Hold Everything  
9: Dust My Broom  
10: Majors, Minors & Ninths  
11: Forever On My Mind  
12: I Am To Blame  
13: Howdy Dowdy  
14: Empty Life  
Robert Jr. Lockwood - The Complete Trix Recordings (2-CD) Medium 2
1: Just A Little Bit  
2: This Is The Blues  
3: Down Home Cooking  
4: Walkin' The Blues  
5: Angel Child  
6: Terraplane Blues  
7: Red Top  
8: Selfish Ways  
9: Half Steppin'  
10: Little Queen Of Spades  
11: King Biscuit Time  


Artikeleigenschaften von Robert Jr. Lockwood: The Complete Trix Recordings (2-CD)

  • Interpret: Robert Jr. Lockwood

  • Albumtitel: The Complete Trix Recordings (2-CD)

  • Artikelart CD

  • Genre Blues

  • Music Genre Blues
  • Music Style Classic Chicago Blues
  • Music Sub-Genre 911 Classic Chicago Blues
  • Label SAVOY

  • SubGenre Blues - Electric

  • EAN: 0795041731227

  • Gewicht in Kg: 0.200

Interpreten-Beschreibung "Lockwood, Robert Jr."

Robert Jr. Lockwood

ROBERT JR. LOCKWOOD'S music shows the influence of not only his stepfather and guitar teacher, Robert Johnson, but also that of jazz guitarists Charlie Christian and Eddie Durham. Lockwood was born on a farm near Marvel, Arkansas in 1915. Once old enough to travel, Lockwood, like many promising bluesmen of the region, found himself drawn to Memphis.

There he played solo along Beale Street and as Sonny Boy Williamson's original guitarist on what is reputed to be the world's first blues radio broadcast: "King Biscuit Time" on KFFA, Helena, Arkansas. In the late '30s Lockwood moved to St. Louis where he met and played with Dr. Clayton, the great African-born blues giant. Robert's recording debut was on a 1941 Dr. Clayton session done in Chicago for Bluebird. The same year he made his first recordings under his own name for Lester Melrose, also issued on Bluebird. Robert stayed in Chicago, although he often returned to Memphis and Arkansas, and by the mid-50s he found himself in the enviable position of being THE studio guitar player in Chicago. He can be heard on classic blues songs like Little Walter's My Babe and Boom, Boom, Out Go The Lights; Sonny Boy Williamson"s Nine Below Zero and Eyesight To The Blind.

He also recorded with Muddy Waters, Otis Spann, Eddie Boyd, Willie Mabon, Sunnyland Slim, Roosevelt Sykes and others. In 1960, Lockwood accompanied Otis Spann on the classic Candid sessions. It was Sonny Boy who con-vinced Robert to move to Cleveland in 1961. They formed a band that played often at a tavern near 86th & Hough. When Sonny Boy left for Europe, Lockwood and his
family remained in Cleveland. He stayed off the scene for a while spending more time as a family man. Exciting performances at the 1972 Ann Arbor Blues Festival, in Toronto and at other festi-vals helped put Robert back into circulation.

This 1970 session was Robert's first album as leader! There were three more Lockwood albums released around the same time (Contrasts and Robert Jr Lockwood Does 12 on the Trix label and Blues Live in Japan on Advent). Robert Jr. Lockwood stayed active on the international blues scene and resided in Cleveland until he passed away on November 21, 2006.

Presseartikel über Robert Jr. Lockwood - The Complete Trix Recordings (2-CD)
Kundenbewertungen für "The Complete Trix Recordings (2-CD)"
Bewertungen werden nach Überprüfung freigeschaltet.
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Robert Jr. Lockwood: The Complete Trix Recordings (2-CD)"

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Zuletzt angesehen