Zurück zur Übersicht
  • Ab 55 € versandkostenfrei (innerhalb DE)
  • DHL Versand - Auslieferung auch Samstags
  • Über 60.000 Artikel direkt ab Lager lieferbar.

METROS AKA CRYSTALS Just Lookin' - Complete Group History (CD)

Just Lookin' - Complete Group History (CD)

Artikel-Nr.: CDCB1060

Gewicht in Kg: 0,100


Sofort versandfertig, Lieferzeit** 1-3 Werktage

29,95 € *

METROS AKA CRYSTALS: Just Lookin' - Complete Group History (CD)

CD auf CRYSTALL BALL RECORDS von METROS AKA CRYSTALS - Just Lookin' - Komplette Konzerngeschichte (CD)


METROS AKA CRYSTALS - Just Lookin' - Complete Group History (CD) Medium 1
1: All Of My Life  
2: Alan Freed  
3: Lookin'  
4: Jack Spector  
5: Watching You  
6: Lonnie Starr  
7: Don K Reed Interview  
8: Oh My You  
9: That's Where I Belong  
10: Better come Back To Me  
11: Cynthia  
12: Baby Sitter  
13: Embraceable You  
14: Oh My You  
15: All Of My Life  
16: Teardrops  
17: Don't Leave Me Now  
18: Heart Of Mine  
19: Big John Grundy  
20: I've Got My Reasons  
21: Christmas Dreams  
22: Sure I Do  
23: 16 Candles  
24: Don't Leave Me Now  
25: WNEW DJ Lonnie Starr  
26: Nusery Rock  
27: Don't Say Goodnight  


Artikeleigenschaften von METROS AKA CRYSTALS: Just Lookin' - Complete Group History (CD)


  • Albumtitel: Just Lookin' - Complete Group History (CD)

  • Artikelart CD

  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Music Genre R&B, Soul
  • Music Style Vocal Groups / Doo Wop
  • Music Sub-Genre 255 Vocal Groups/Doo Wop

  • SubGenre R&B Music - Classic R&B

  • EAN: 0764942067421

  • Gewicht in Kg: 0.100

Interpreten-Beschreibung "Metros Aka Crystals"

The Crystals

There's No Other (Like My Baby)

Even though he'd only recently arrived in New York from L.A. (where his Teddy Bears cut a 1958 pop chart-topper, To Know Him, Is To Love Him), Phil Spector was making his presence known despite his youth. Spector revamped the old blues Corrina, Corrina into a ballad for Ray Peterson, co-wrote Ben E. King's Spanish Harlem, and produced Curtis Lee's Pretty Little Angel Eyes, Gene Pitney's Every Breath I Take, and The Paris Sisters' I Love How You Love Me.

After apprenticing under Leiber and Stoller, Phil wanted to run the whole show, launching Philles Records with Lester Sill. One of the first groups he worked with was The Crystals, a teenaged Brooklyn quintet comprised of lead Barbara Alston, Mary Thomas, Dolores 'Dee Dee' Kenniebrew, Myrna Girard, and Patricia Wright. They met Spector at Hill and Range Publishing bearing There's No Other (Like My Baby), written by their pal Leroy Bates.

Spector rehearsed Alston for two solid weeks before the girls received a call to meet him at Mira Sound on West 47th for their session (one source says it was on June 28, the same night the girls graduated from high school; another claims it was that autumn). Phil did the arrangement, overdubbing strings the next day and claiming co-writing credit. Wright sang lead on the flip, Oh Yeah, Maybe Baby, written by Spector and Hank Hunter. There's No Other was a #5 R&B/#20 pop hit late in the year, inaugurating brand-new Philles in style.

Alston sang lead on the highly atmospheric mid-1962 hit Uptown, but once Spector moved his recording based of operations back to L.A., the group's personnel became interchangeable. Darlene Love actually led The Crystals' '62 hits He's A Rebel and He's Sure The Boy I Love, but explosive new Crystal Dolores 'La La' Brooks (born June 20, 1947 in Brooklyn) grabbed the spotlight back on the group's mammoth '63 hits Da Doo Ron Ron (she was all of 15) and Then He Kissed Me.

Spector lost interest in The Crystals after The Ronettes commandeered his girl group allegiance. The Crystals' last two Philles releases, Little Boy and All Grown Up, scraped the low end of the charts in 1964. Thomas and Girard had left to join The Butterflys, and Wright was gone by the time The Crystals touched down at United Artists, no longer in Phil's stable. Dee Dee still has a group of Crystals touring, while La La does her own thing in dynamic fashion.

Various Street Corner Symphonies 1961 Vol.13Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über METROS AKA CRYSTALS - Just Lookin' - Complete Group History (CD)
Kundenbewertungen für "Just Lookin' - Complete Group History (CD)"
Bewertungen werden nach Überprüfung freigeschaltet.
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "METROS AKA CRYSTALS: Just Lookin' - Complete Group History (CD)"

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Marvin & Johnny: Cherry Pie -...

Inhalt: 1.0000

15,95 € *

Zuletzt angesehen