Zurück zur Übersicht
  • Ab 55 € versandkostenfrei (innerhalb DE)
  • DHL Versand - Auslieferung auch Samstags
  • Über 60.000 Artikel direkt ab Lager lieferbar.

Mickey Newbury An American Trilogy 1969-73 (4-CD)

An American Trilogy 1969-73 (4-CD)
Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn der Artikel lieferbar ist.

Artikel-Nr.: CDDC485

Gewicht in Kg: 0,160

29,95 € *

Mickey Newbury: An American Trilogy 1969-73 (4-CD)

(2011/DRAG CITY) the legendary Mercury & Elektra albums plus demos, rarities & unreleased songs. 41 tracks - gatefold ecopac with 28 page booklet. Wundersamerweise ist dieses 'An American Trilogy'-Set doch noch möglich geworden, denn die Aufnahmen zu den ersten drei LPs der Jahre 1969 bis 1972 waren jahrzehntelang verschollen gewesen. Hier findet man sie komplett remastered, mit einem guten Dutzend Raritäten als Zugaben auf der vierten CD. (Stereo, September 2011)


Newbury, Mickey - An American Trilogy 1969-73 (4-CD) CD 1
1: Write A Song A Song/Angeline
2: She Even Woke Me Up To Say Goodbye
3: I Don´t Think Much About Her No More
4: T.Total Tommy
5: 33rd Of August/When The Baby In My Lady ...
6: San Francisco Mable Joy
7: Looks Like Baby´s Gone
Newbury, Mickey - An American Trilogy 1969-73 (4-CD) CD 2
1: An American Trilogy
2: How Many Times(Must The Piper Be Paid for...)
3: Interlude
4: The Future´s Not What It Used To Be
5: Mobile Blue
6: Frisco Depot
7: You´re Not My Same Sweet Baby
8: Interlude
9: Remember The Good
10: Swiss Cottage Place
11: How I Love Them Old Songs
Newbury, Mickey - An American Trilogy 1969-73 (4-CD) CD 3
1: Heaven Help The Child
2: Good Morning Dear
3: Sunshine
4: Sweet Memories
5: Why You Been Gone So Long
6: Cortelia Clark
7: Song For Susan
8: San Francisco Mabel Joy
Newbury, Mickey - An American Trilogy 1969-73 (4-CD) CD 4
1: If You Want Me To I´ll Go
2: Sunshine
3: Sad Satin Rhyme
4: Why You Been Gone So Long
5: I Don´t Wanna Rock
6: Let Me Stay Awhile
7: Flower Man
8: Good Morning Dear
9: On Top Of Old Smokey
10: Interlude: How Many Times (Must The Piper..)
11: Better Days
12: How I Love Them Old Songs
13: I Don´t Wanna Rock
14: I Don´t Want Me No Big Old Songs
15: You´re Not My Same Sweet Baby


Artikeleigenschaften von Mickey Newbury: An American Trilogy 1969-73 (4-CD)

  • Interpret: Mickey Newbury

  • Albumtitel: An American Trilogy 1969-73 (4-CD)

  • Artikelart CD

  • Genre Country

  • Music Genre Country Music
  • Music Style Songwriter / Outlaw / Country Rock
  • Music Sub-Genre 009 Songwriter/Outlaw/Country Rock
  • Label DRAG CITY

  • SubGenre Country - General

  • EAN: 0781484548522

  • Gewicht in Kg: 0.160

Interpreten-Beschreibung "Newbury, Mickey"

Mickey Newbury

How I Love Them Old Songs

Mickey Newbury

How I Love Them Old Songs

(Mickey Newbury)

recorded April 1970, Cinderella Sound, 1108 Cinderella Street, Nashville; Producer: Dennis Linde

with Mickey Newbury: vocal/piano; Dennis Linde: guitar or bass; Wayne Moss: guitar; Robert C. 'Bobby' Thompson: banjo; Weldon Myrick: steel guitar; Charles R. 'Charlie' McCoy: harmonica; Norman Keith 'Buddy' Spicher: fiddle; Farrell Morris: percussion

Elektra LP EK-45789


As songwriter and mentor, Mickey Newbury has flitted through the latter part of this series; finally, we hear his achingly sweet two-pack-a-day voice. Lonnie Mack, then on Elektra Records, gave Newbury's Mercury LP to Elektra's A&R guy, Russ Miller. “The next thing I knew I was swept up in a whirlwind,” Newbury said later. “I was the first act signed from Nashville by Elektra.” He was given complete creative control. “Mickey,” said label president Jac Holzman, “was a craftsman... Facile and fastidious. There was no excess, no unsightly ornament in his work.” Newbury's first Elektra album, 'Frisco Mabel Joy,' was recorded at Wayne Moss's Cinderella studio, mixed at Jack Clement's studio, and produced by fellow Elektra artist Dennis Linde, the writer of Elvis's 1972 hit Burning Love. Like Newbury, Linde had recorded an album for Mercury before moving to Elektra.

How I Love Them Old Songs broke the LP's overpoweringly depressive mood. “I got married and I tried to write some love songs,” Newbury said. “It's not a time to write sad songs you know. So I set out to write some love songs and I couldn't do it. But I did write a happy song.” How I Love Them Old Songs was almost vaudevillian, hence the banjo scratched to sound like a ukulele. Newbury's cryptic reference to a “double eagle guitar” has puzzled listeners. The best guess is that it refers to a twenty-dollar gold coin that would buy a guitar in those days. Three country artists charted How I Love Them Old Songs: Carl Smith's version reached #20 in 1970, preceding Newbury's release. After Newbury's LP was released, Jim Ed Brown (#57, 1972) and Danny Davis (#91, 1977) returned the song to the charts. An impossibly eclectic mix of artists tackled it after that, including several more country singers, fading rocker Gene Vincent, Broadway star Carol Channing, and the British comedy duo of Mike & Bernie Winters. None of them came close to eclipsing the bittersweet joy of the original. And with it, we close a quarter-century of them old songs.

- Colin Escott -

Various Country & Western Hit Parade 1970

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über Mickey Newbury - An American Trilogy 1969-73 (4-CD)
Kundenbewertungen für "An American Trilogy 1969-73 (4-CD)"
Bewertungen werden nach Überprüfung freigeschaltet.
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Mickey Newbury: An American Trilogy 1969-73 (4-CD)"

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Tompall & The...: Same Old...

Inhalt: 1.0000

15,50 € *

Zuletzt angesehen