Zurück zur Übersicht
  • Ab 55 € versandkostenfrei (innerhalb DE)
  • DHL Versand - Auslieferung auch Samstags
  • Über 60.000 Artikel direkt ab Lager lieferbar.

Link Wray & The Wraymen Slinky - The Epic Sessions 1958-61 (2-CD)

Slinky - The Epic Sessions 1958-61 (2-CD)

Artikel-Nr.: CDSC11098

Gewicht in Kg: 0,200


Sofort versandfertig, Lieferzeit** 1-3 Werktage

Statt: 29,95 € * (16.69 % gespart)
24,95 € *

Link Wray & The Wraymen: Slinky - The Epic Sessions 1958-61 (2-CD)

(2002/Sundazed) 46 tracks



Wray, Link - Slinky - The Epic Sessions 1958-61 (2-CD) CD 1
1: Disc 1:
2: Slinky
3: Mary Ann (alt.) *
4: Right Turn
5: Raw-Hide
6: Ramble
7: Ain't That Lovin' You Baby
8: Caroline
9: Studio Blues
10: Walkin' With Link
11: Dixie-Doodle
12: Radar
13: Oh Babe Be Mine *
14: Lillian
15: Comanche
16: Dance Contest
17: Guitar Cha-Cha
18: Rumble Mambo
19: El Toro
20: Comanche (Demo) *
21: Right Turn (Alt. Take) *
22: Lillian (Alt. Take) *
23: Kikki *
24: Moonlight Love *
25: Disc 2:
26: Handclapper
27: Mary Ann
28: Golden Strings
29: New Studio Blues
30: Rendezvous
31: Trail Of The Lonesome Pine
32: Ramble (Alt. Take) *
33: Slinky (Alt. Take) *
34: Walkin' With Link (Alt. Take) *
35: Young And In Love (Demo) *
36: Stupid Pony (The Ponies)
37: Goose Bumps (Doug Wray)
38: School Girl (Doug Wray)
39: Night Life (Bert & Ray)
40: Slow Drag (Bert & Ray)
41: New Studio Blues (Alt. Take) *
42: Golden Strings (Demo) *
43: Ain't That Lovin' You Baby (Alt. Take) *
44: If This Is Wrong *
45: Oh Babe Be Mine (Alt. Take)
46: Radar (Alt. Take) *
47: Tijuana
48: Tenderly *


Artikeleigenschaften von Link Wray & The Wraymen: Slinky - The Epic Sessions 1958-61 (2-CD)

  • Interpret: Link Wray & The Wraymen

  • Albumtitel: Slinky - The Epic Sessions 1958-61 (2-CD)

  • Artikelart CD

  • Genre Rock 'n' Roll

  • Music Genre Blues
  • Music Style Roots Rock
  • Music Sub-Genre 949 Roots Rock
  • Label SUNDAZED

  • SubGenre Rock - Rock'n'Roll

  • EAN: 0090771109828

  • Gewicht in Kg: 0.200

Interpreten-Beschreibung "Wray, Link"


La De Da

recorded October 1970 at Wray's Shack Three Track, Accokeek, Maryland; Producers: Steve Verroca and Ray Vernon in association with Bob Feldman

with Lincoln 'Link' Wray: vocal/guitars/Dobro/bass; Billy Hodges: piano/organ/ backing vocal; Bobbie Howard: mandolin/piano; Doug Wray: drums/backing vocal; Steve Verroca: percussion/backing vocal

Polydor 24-4064 (LP)


Link Wray played the most important D chord in history: it opened Rumble. Guitarists often remember where they were when they first heard it. Thirteen years later, Wray signed with the newly-launched American division of Polydor, and his back porch sound could almost have emanated from another Link Wray. The extended Wray family was living almost communally on the family farm near Accokeek, Maryland, an hour south of Washington. "Papa started building a chicken coop and a porch on the house," Link told Tom Zito in 1971. "Then he built a room onto the porch, and then another room onto that and pretty soon it was all connected. Ray moved his three-track recorder into one of the rooms and we converted the coop into a studio, but the two were never connected so we still have to yell back and forth, 'Is it running, Ray?' every time we want to start."


One of Link's steady gigs was at the Two Thieves Club in suburban Maryland. There, he was heard by Steve Verocca, an Italian who'd come to the States in the wake of Volare, an Italian song he claimed to have produced in its original version by Domenico Modungo. "I was overwhelmed by [Link's] music," said Verroca. "Here was a man on-stage singing out his soul, so I asked him about recording an album and he told me about his past experiences, and I suggested we do it at the Shack. I believe the Shack has a soul. You can hear people burping on the record, and that's great. It's real." When Verroca had no success placing the LP, it was handed to Bob Feldman, who'd been in the Strangeloves and had produced the Angels' My Boyfriend's Back. Feldman had known Link when they were touring together in the late '50s, and was both moved and intrigued by the new record. "Every so often, magic happens," he said. Given the rights for ninety days, he placed the LP with the new American division of Polydor Records. Lyrically, Wray's new songs weren't especially strong, but the funky, organic vibe was compelling. If Rick Nelson's reinvention was still in character; Wray's was a complete 180 degree turn.

Various - Truckers, Kickers, Cowboy Angels Vol.04, The Blissed-Out Birth Of Country Rock 1971 (2-CD)

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records


Presseartikel über Link Wray & The Wraymen - Slinky - The Epic Sessions 1958-61 (2-CD)
Kundenbewertungen für "Slinky - The Epic Sessions 1958-61 (2-CD)"
Bewertungen werden nach Überprüfung freigeschaltet.
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Link Wray & The Wraymen: Slinky - The Epic Sessions 1958-61 (2-CD)"

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Adrian & The Sunsets: Breakthrough

Inhalt: 1.0000

18,95 € *

Tornadoes, The: Beyond The Surf

Inhalt: 1.0000

18,95 € *

Various: Wolfman...

Inhalt: 1.0000

29,95 € *

Lewis, Jerry Lee: The Mercury...

Inhalt: 1.0000

24,95 € *

Troggs: Archeology...

Inhalt: 1.0000

49,95 € *

Righteous...: The Moonglow...

Inhalt: 1.0000

29,95 € *

Various Artists: At The...

Inhalt: 1.0000

194,95 € *

Wray, Link: Rumble And...

Inhalt: 1.0000

12,95 € *

Wray, Link: Rumbles,...

Inhalt: 1.0000

14,92 € * Statt: 16,95 € *

Wray, Link: They're...

Inhalt: 1.0000

17,95 € *

Zuletzt angesehen