Zurück zur Übersicht
  • Ab 55 € versandkostenfrei (innerhalb DE)
  • DHL Versand - Auslieferung auch Samstags
  • Über 60.000 Artikel direkt ab Lager lieferbar.

Link Wray & His Raymen They're Outta Here

They're Outta Here

Artikel-Nr.: CDROLL3032

Gewicht in Kg: 0,100


Sofort versandfertig, Lieferzeit** 1-3 Werktage

17,95 € *

Link Wray & His Raymen: They're Outta Here

(2004/ROLLERCOASTER) 25 Cadence tracks - 6 page foldout cover with - - 20 page booklet. Nach dem Radio Bann von 'Rumble' bekam das Cadence Label kalte Füsse und legte diese Aufnahmen als 'zu riskant' auf Eis. Hier sind die original Sessions in Top Qualität und Klasse Aufmachung. Das Frontbild ist übrigens eigentlich ein Chordettes Plattencover des Cadence Labels in Anspielung auf die Diskriminierung von echtem Rock & Roll in den 50ern. 'Think Link'sk. This CD contains the album (tracks 2-4, 6, 7, 9-13 and 17-19) and the follow-up 45 (tracks 6 and 2) that Link Wray offered to the Cadence label in the wake of his groundbreaking debut hit 'Rumble' back in 1958. Before either could be issued, Link and the boys were dropped, their street image deemed to be too sharply at odds with Cadence's starchy formality. A little later, Link re-cut some of the titles for his next labe, Epic, but these are the original Cadence versions from the original session tapes, issued here for the first time. We habe added out-takes and other unissued tracks, together with the original session masters and studio chat from the 'Rumble'/ 'Swag' session.


Wray, Link - They're Outta Here CD 1
1: Oddball
2: Pancho Villa
3: Walking With Link
4: Comanche
5: The Swag
6: Raw Hide
7: Dance Contest
8: School Girl
9: Heartbreak Hotel
10: Drag Race
11: Rebel Rouser
12: Patricia
13: The Freeze (alt. version) Link & Vernon
14: Missing Link (alt. version)
15: I'll Be So Good To You (vocal: Ray Vernon)
16: Window Shopping (vocal: Ray Vernon)
17: Missing Link
18: White Lightning
19: Creepy
20: Raw Hide (alt. version)
21: Pancho Villa (alt. version, take 7)
22: Comanche (alt. version)
23: Walking With Link (alt. version)
24: Pancho Villa (alt. version)
25: Dance Contest (alt. version)


Artikeleigenschaften von Link Wray & His Raymen: They're Outta Here

  • Interpret: Link Wray & His Raymen

  • Albumtitel: They're Outta Here

  • Artikelart CD

  • Genre Rock 'n' Roll

  • Music Genre Rock 'n' Roll
  • Music Style Rock & Roll
  • Music Sub-Genre 201 Rock & Roll

  • Preiscode VCD6
  • SubGenre Rock - Rock'n'Roll

  • EAN: 5012814030321

  • Gewicht in Kg: 0.100

Interpreten-Beschreibung "Wray, Link"


La De Da

recorded October 1970 at Wray's Shack Three Track, Accokeek, Maryland; Producers: Steve Verroca and Ray Vernon in association with Bob Feldman

with Lincoln 'Link' Wray: vocal/guitars/Dobro/bass; Billy Hodges: piano/organ/ backing vocal; Bobbie Howard: mandolin/piano; Doug Wray: drums/backing vocal; Steve Verroca: percussion/backing vocal

Polydor 24-4064 (LP)


Link Wray played the most important D chord in history: it opened Rumble. Guitarists often remember where they were when they first heard it. Thirteen years later, Wray signed with the newly-launched American division of Polydor, and his back porch sound could almost have emanated from another Link Wray. The extended Wray family was living almost communally on the family farm near Accokeek, Maryland, an hour south of Washington. "Papa started building a chicken coop and a porch on the house," Link told Tom Zito in 1971. "Then he built a room onto the porch, and then another room onto that and pretty soon it was all connected. Ray moved his three-track recorder into one of the rooms and we converted the coop into a studio, but the two were never connected so we still have to yell back and forth, 'Is it running, Ray?' every time we want to start."


One of Link's steady gigs was at the Two Thieves Club in suburban Maryland. There, he was heard by Steve Verocca, an Italian who'd come to the States in the wake of Volare, an Italian song he claimed to have produced in its original version by Domenico Modungo. "I was overwhelmed by [Link's] music," said Verroca. "Here was a man on-stage singing out his soul, so I asked him about recording an album and he told me about his past experiences, and I suggested we do it at the Shack. I believe the Shack has a soul. You can hear people burping on the record, and that's great. It's real." When Verroca had no success placing the LP, it was handed to Bob Feldman, who'd been in the Strangeloves and had produced the Angels' My Boyfriend's Back. Feldman had known Link when they were touring together in the late '50s, and was both moved and intrigued by the new record. "Every so often, magic happens," he said. Given the rights for ninety days, he placed the LP with the new American division of Polydor Records. Lyrically, Wray's new songs weren't especially strong, but the funky, organic vibe was compelling. If Rick Nelson's reinvention was still in character; Wray's was a complete 180 degree turn.

Various - Truckers, Kickers, Cowboy Angels Vol.04, The Blissed-Out Birth Of Country Rock 1971 (2-CD)

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records


Presseartikel über Link Wray & His Raymen - They're Outta Here
Kundenbewertungen für "They're Outta Here"
Bewertungen werden nach Überprüfung freigeschaltet.
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Link Wray & His Raymen: They're Outta Here"

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Zuletzt angesehen