Zurück zur Übersicht
  • Ab 55 € versandkostenfrei (innerhalb DE)
  • DHL Versand - Auslieferung auch Samstags
  • Über 60.000 Artikel direkt ab Lager lieferbar.

Brook Benton The Early Years 1953-1959 (2-CD)

Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn der Artikel lieferbar ist.

Artikel-Nr.: CDJAS784

Gewicht in Kg: 0,100


Artikel derzeit nicht verfügbar, Lieferfristen von bis zu 2-3 Wochen sind zu erwarten. (soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten - kann aber auch schneller gehen)

16,95 € *

Brook Benton: The Early Years 1953-1959 (2-CD)

(2014/Jasmine) 62 tracks

(2014/Jasmine) 62 tracks



Benton, Brook - The Early Years 1953-1959 (2-CD) CD 1
1: When I Grow Too Old To Dream - The Sandmen
2: Somebody To Love - The Sandmen
3: Ooh - W- The Sandmen
4: The Kentuckian Song - W- The Sandmen
5: Bring Me Love - W- The Ray Ellis Orchestra
6: Some Of My Best Friends - W- The Ray Ellis Orchestra
7: Love Made Me Your Fool - W- The Leroy Kirkland Orchestra
8: Give Me A Sign - W- The Leroy Kirkland Orchestra
9: The Wall - W- The Leroy Kirkland Orchestra
10: All My Love Belongs To You - W- The Leroy Kirkland Orchestr
11: Rock Æn' Roll That Rhythm (All Nite Long) - W- The Ray Elli
12: Anything For You - W- The Leroy Kirkland Orchestra
13: Tell Me - W- The Leroy Kirkland Orchestra
14: Partners For Life - W- The Ray Ellis Orchestra
15: Can I Help It - W- The Quincy Jones Orchestra
16: You Should Have Told Me - W- The Leroy Kirkland Orchestra
17: I Wanna Do Everything For You
18: Come On, Be Nice
19: If Only I Had Known
20: Your Love Alone
21: A Million Miles From Nowhere
22: Devoted
23: Because You Love Me
24: Crinoline Skirt
25: Crazy In Love With You
26: I'm Coming Back To You
27: Only Your Love
28: You're For Me
29: Sentimental Daddy-O
Benton, Brook - The Early Years 1953-1959 (2-CD) CD 2
1: A Door That Is Open
2: Ain't It Good- The Demo Sessions
3: One Love Too Many- The Demo Sessions
4: Don't Walk Away From Me- The Demo Sessions
5: May I- The Demo Sessions
6: You're Movin' Me- The Demo Sessions
7: Nothing In The World- The Demo Sessions
8: Next Stop Paradise- The Demo Sessions
9: Keep Me In Mind- The Demo Sessions
10: I'll Never Stop Trying- The Demo Sessions
11: Walking Together- The Demo Sessions
12: What A Kiss Won't Do- The Demo Sessions
13: Come On Let's Go- The Demo Sessions
14: My Love Will Last- The Demo Sessions
15: Come Back My Love- The Demo Sessions
16: A Lover's Question- The Demo Sessions
17: I'll Stop Anything I'm Doing- The Demo Sessions
18: Everything Will Be Alright- The Demo Sessions
19: Completely- The Demo Sessions
20: The Rest Of The Way- The Demo Sessions
21: I'll Meet You After Church Next Sunday- The Demo Sessions
22: This Bitter Earth- The Demo Sessions
23: Looking Back- The Demo Sessions
24: Mark My Word- The Demo Sessions
25: Doggone Baby Doggone- The Demo Sessions
26: You Can't Get Away From Me- The Demo Sessions
27: Ninetyûnine Percent- The Demo Sessions
28: Steppin' Out Tonight- The Demo Sessions
29: A New Love- The Demo Sessions
30: Jesus Lover Of My Soul- The Bill Landford Quartet
31: The Devil Is A Real Bright Boy- The Bill Landford Quartet
32: I Dreamed Of A City Called Heaven- The Bill Landford Quarte
33: You Ain't Got Faith- The Bill Landford Quartet


Artikeleigenschaften von Brook Benton: The Early Years 1953-1959 (2-CD)

  • Interpret: Brook Benton

  • Albumtitel: The Early Years 1953-1959 (2-CD)

  • Artikelart CD

  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Music Genre Rhythm & Blues
  • Music Style Rhythm & Blues
  • Music Sub-Genre 251 Rhythm & Blues
  • Label JASMINE

  • SubGenre R&B Music - Classic R&B

  • EAN: 0604988078428

  • Gewicht in Kg: 0.100

Interpreten-Beschreibung "Benton, Brook"

Brook Benton

It's Just A Matter Of Time

Brook Benton

It's Just A Matter Of Time


As Mercury Records’ new head of east coast A&R, Clyde Otis lost no time signing his demo singer and occasional co-writer, Brook Benton. During the first session Benton and Otis recorded a song they’d worked up, It's Just A Matter Of Time. They’d written the song for Nat ‘King’ Cole, but Otis explained to Cole that he’d just landed the Mercury gig, and really wanted the song for Benton. The lyrics reflected Benton's frustration at his inability to score a hit as a singer. When confronted with his co-writer's frustration Otis would say, "It's just a matter of time, Brook." Otis ensured that it would appeal to the broadest cross-section of the market by employing a full string section.


However, there was a political dimension to the strings that went beyond merely broadening the base of appeal. "Historically," asserted Otis, "black artists wanted to record with strings because it had been something that had been denied them. The strings symbolized legitimacy. There weren't even any black string players working in the studios. When we organized Brook's first date I asked my contractor if there were any black string players. He said, 'Yes. They're working in Broadway shows and other pick-up jobs.' I said, 'Why don't they play record dates?' He said, 'Nobody calls them.' I said, 'If they're good, I want to see them on my sessions.'" Benton's intimate and crisply miked vocals looked back toward the relaxed ballad style of Arthur Prysock and Billy Eckstine and forward to the passion of soul music.

One of the selling points was Benton’s low notes. He was singing deeper and with more feeling than on any of his previous recordings for other labels. The low notes were a legacy from an early R&B giant, Percy Mayfield. Benton had first used them on his demo of The Stroll. After his vocal arrangement had been successfully co-opted by the Diamonds, Benton resolved to use the low notes on his own recordings and perfected his technique. Otis also ensured that Brook rehearsed his vocal part for days before a session so that many of the nuances could be honed to perfection. “The people at Mercury said it was too quiet,” said Otis. “Said it didn’t rock and roll enough. So I took it to a dee-jay, Doctor Jive, asked him to play it. He called back and said the switchboard had lit up. The people at Mercury checked it out and found it was true.”  In January 1959, It's Just A Matter Of Time entered the charts, topping the R&B listings and peaking at #3 on the pop charts.

Both Benton and Otis had been vindicated in the strongest possible terms. 

Various - Blowing The Fuse 1959

Classics That Rocked The Jukebox

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über Brook Benton - The Early Years 1953-1959 (2-CD)
Kundenbewertungen für "The Early Years 1953-1959 (2-CD)"
Bewertungen werden nach Überprüfung freigeschaltet.
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Brook Benton: The Early Years 1953-1959 (2-CD)"

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Presley, Elvis: Speedway...

Inhalt: 1.0000

29,95 € *

Dinning, Mark: Teen Angels...

Inhalt: 1.0000

16,95 € *

Presley, Elvis: Wild In The...

Inhalt: 1.0000

24,95 € *

Benton, Brook: The Platinum...

Inhalt: 1.0000

7,90 € *

Orion: Jimmy Ellis...

Inhalt: 1.0000

29,95 € *

Waikikis: Hawaii Tattoo

Inhalt: 1.0000

14,95 € * Statt: 15,95 € *

Zuletzt angesehen