Zurück zur Übersicht
  • Ab 55 € versandkostenfrei (innerhalb DE)
  • DHL Versand - Auslieferung auch Samstags
  • Über 60.000 Artikel direkt ab Lager lieferbar.

HARPTONES Life Is But A Dream (2-CD)

Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn der Artikel lieferbar ist.

Artikel-Nr.: CDJAS226

Gewicht in Kg: 0,100


Artikel derzeit nicht verfügbar, Lieferfristen von bis zu 2-3 Wochen sind zu erwarten. (soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten - kann aber auch schneller gehen)

9,95 € *

HARPTONES: Life Is But A Dream (2-CD)

(2012/JASMINE) 60 tracks 1953-61.


Harptones - Life Is But A Dream (2-CD) CD 1
1: A Sunday Kind Of Love
2: I'll Never Tell
3: My Memories Of You
4: It Was Just For Loughs
5: I Depend On You
6: Mambo Boogie (Bruce Version)
7: Why Should I Love You
8: Forever Mine
9: I'll Never Tell (with Bunny Paul)
10: Honey Love (with Bunny Paul)
11: So Soon (with The Woodside Sisters)
12: Love Me (with The Woodside Sisters)
13: Since I Fell For You
14: Oobidee Ooobidee - Ooo
15: I Almost Lost My Mind
16: Oo Wee Baby (Bruce Version)
17: High Flyin' Baby
18: Life Is But A Dream
19: You Know You're Doing Me Wrong
20: My Success (It All Depends On You)
21: I've Got A Notion
22: I Love You (Peggy Farmer)
23: Dreaming Is No Good (Peggy Farmer)
24: Don't Stay Away Too Long (Peggy Farmer)
25: Call Me, I'll Be There (Peggy Farmer)
26: School Boy (Ruth McFadden)
27: That's The Way It Goes
28: Three Wishes
29: Second Hand Love (Mabel King)
30: Symbol Of Love (Mabel King)
Harptones - Life Is But A Dream (2-CD) CD 2
1: Schoolgirl
2: On Sunday Afternoon (Old Town Version)
3: Mambo Boogie
4: Chang Chang A Lang - Raoul Cita Chorus
5: On Sunday Afternoon (Rama Version)
6: The Masquerade Is Over
7: The Shrine Of St. Cecelia
8: Oo Wee Baby
9: What Is Your Secret
10: I Got A Fine Little Girl
11: What Did I Do Wrong (Carol Blades)
12: When Will I Know (Carol Blades)
13: Cry Like I Cried
14: So Good So Fine, You're Mine
15: Until The Real Thing Comes Along
16: Laughing On the Outside
17: I Remember
18: Love Me Completely
19: Hep Teenager
20: No Greater Miracle
21: What Kind Of Fool (Do You Think I Am)
22: Rain Down Kisses
23: Answer Me My Love
24: Devil In Velvet
25: Your Love Is A Good Love
26: All In Your Mind
27: The Last Dance
28: What Will I Tell My Heart
29: Foolish Me
30: Loving A Girl Like You


Artikeleigenschaften von HARPTONES: Life Is But A Dream (2-CD)

  • Interpret: HARPTONES

  • Albumtitel: Life Is But A Dream (2-CD)

  • Artikelart CD

  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Music Genre R&B, Soul
  • Music Style Vocal Groups / Doo Wop
  • Music Sub-Genre 255 Vocal Groups/Doo Wop
  • Label JASMINE

  • Preiscode JAS
  • SubGenre R&B Music - Classic R&B

  • EAN: 0604988022629

  • Gewicht in Kg: 0.100

Interpreten-Beschreibung "Harptones"

The Harptones

Life Is But A Dream

Considering their gorgeous harmonies and the majestic lead tenor Willie Winfield, The Harptones should have been a national force instead of East Coast favorites. But the New York group was on comparatively tiny Bruce Records when they waxed their first two classic ballads, A Sunday Kind Of Love (it's on the 1953 disc in this series) and My Memories Of You (included on our '54 volume).

Leo Rogers, Morty Craft, and Monte Bruce couldn't break the group despite their fine 1954-55 Bruce followups I Depended On You (fronted by tenor Nicky Clark), Why Should I Love You?, Since I Fell For You (a remake of Buddy Johnson's 1946 classic), and a revival of Ivory Joe Hunter's '50 R&B chart-topper I Almost Lost My Mind, the rest led by Winfield. When Bruce folded in May of '55, Leo took The Harptones to Hy Weiss, who launched his Paradise subsidiary with their stunning Life Is But A Dream. Written by Harptones pianist/arranger Raoul Cita and featuring Willie's magic carpet lead tenor, it was issued on Paradise that June with the jumping You Know You're Doing Me Wrong, led by new baritone Jimmy Beckum (a former member of The Majors), on the B-side (it was another Cita composition). As was too often the case with The Harptones, a lack of nationwide distribution meant the record wouldn't make the national charts. 

On one splendid release after another on Paradise, Andrea, Rama, and Tip Top, Winfield's pipes never lost their sparkle, The Harptones' harmonies growing even more lush compared to their initial Bruce output. "I think that that was really primitive compared to things like 'That's The Way It Goes' that we did later, and 'The Shrine Of St. Cecelia,'" says Winfield. "It was a little bit more progressive."

Their '56 treatment of The Masquerade Is Over on Rama was thrilling. "Mr. Cita, he arranged it so we could get a different sound towards like having less members in the group," says Willie. "At that time, we had six, so we went down to like four-part harmony behind that. He wrote a beautiful arrangement on it." The Harptones also lip-synched three up-tempo numbers in the 1956 film 'Rockin' The Blues.'

Winfield and The Harptones kept making records for Gee, Warwick, Coed, Companion (where their What Will I Tell My Heart inched onto the pop charts at #96 in '61), Cub, and other labels into 1964, when Willie left. "The Beatles came in and chased everything out!" he says. Amazingly, Winfield, Cita, and longtime tenor William 'Dempsey' James were still performing at last sighting as The Harptones

- Bill Dahl -

Various Vol.7, Street Corner Symphonies 1955

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über HARPTONES - Life Is But A Dream (2-CD)
Kundenbewertungen für "Life Is But A Dream (2-CD)"
Bewertungen werden nach Überprüfung freigeschaltet.
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "HARPTONES: Life Is But A Dream (2-CD)"

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Zuletzt angesehen