Zurück zur Übersicht
  • Ab 55 € versandkostenfrei (innerhalb DE)
  • DHL Versand - Auslieferung auch Samstags
  • Über 50.000 Artikel direkt ab Lager lieferbar.

John Prine The Singing Mailman Delivers - Early (2-CD)

Artikel-Nr.: CDOBR040

Gewicht in Kg: 0,120


Sofort versandfertig, Lieferzeit** 1-3 Werktage

17,50 € *

John Prine: The Singing Mailman Delivers - Early (2-CD)

(2011/OH BOY) 24 tracks - gatefold ecopac with 12 page booklet. Fantastic live & studio recordings from 1970 one year before his debut, with classic hits & one unreleased song.


Prine, John - The Singing Mailman Delivers - Early (2-CD) CD 1
1: Studio:
2: Hello In There
3: Souvenirs
4: Great Society Conflict Veteran's Blues
5: Paradise
6: Blue Umbrella
7: Aw Heck
8: Illegal Smile
9: Flashback Blues
10: The Frying Pan
11: Sour Grapes
12: A Star, A Jewel, And A Hoax
13: Life:
14: Flashback Blues
15: Hello In There
16: Your Flag Decal Won't Get You Into Heaven Any
17: The Great Compromise
18: Blue Umbrella
19: Illegal Smile
20: Angel From Montgomery
21: A Good Time
22: Hey Good Lockin' - Jambalaya (On The Bayou)
23: Quiet Man
24: Paradise
25: Great Society Conflict
26: Veteran's Blues
27: Spanish Pipedream


Artikeleigenschaften von John Prine: The Singing Mailman Delivers - Early (2-CD)

  • Interpret: John Prine

  • Albumtitel: The Singing Mailman Delivers - Early (2-CD)

  • Artikelart CD

  • Genre Country

  • Label OH BOY

  • SubGenre Country - General

  • EAN: 0094012004026

  • Gewicht in Kg: 0.120

Interpreten-Beschreibung "Prine, John"


Angel From Montgomery

recorded probably July 8, 1971 at American Recording Studio, Danny Thomas Blvd., Memphis, Tennessee; produced by Arif Mardin

with John Prine: vocal, guitar; Reggie Young: lead guitar; Leo LeBlanc: pedal steel guitar; John Christopher: guitar; Bobby Emmons: organ; Bobby Wood: piano; Mike Leach: bass; Gene Chrisman: drums; Bishop Heywood: percussion

Atlantic SD 8296 (LP)


In Chicago, John Prine befriended folkie Steve Goodman, who played one of Prine's songs at a show attended by Kris Kristofferson. Blown away by the song, Kristofferson and his unlikely pal, Paul Anka, went to see Prine at the Earl in Chicago. "The club had closed, but the door was open,” Prine said. "The chairs were turned up on the tables, and I was waiting around to get paid.” When Kristofferson and Anka arrived, Prine pulled his guitar out of the case and ran down a few songs. Kristofferson invited Prine and Goodman to perform with him in New York. Atlantic's Jerry Wexler was in the audience. "The next day, I signed a record contract,” Prine said. "It was just that quick.” Anka became his first manager.


Angel from Montgomery was one of thirteen varied, consequential, and above all evocative songs on Prine's first album. It has been covered by Bonnie Raitt, Susan Tedeschi, and many others, most of them women. Talking to Paul Zollo, Prine said that the song was almost a cowrite with another Chicago folkie, Eddie Holstein. One afternoon, they tried to write a song together, and Eddie suggested a song about an older person. Prine said he'd already done that with Hello In There. Then he said, "How about a song about a middle-aged woman who feels older than she is.” Holstein laughed it off, but Prine stuck with it. "I went home. I had this real vivid image of a woman standing over dish water with soap on her hands, walking away from it all. I let it pour out of that character's heart. She just wanted an angel to come to take her away from all this." Why Montgomery? Because everyone knows Hank Williams was from there. Elaborating later, Prine said, he likes to write from the point of view of characters other than himself. Male fiction writers create female characters, so songwriters should have the same freedom. "There's no gender when it comes to being a writer,” he said.  


Various - Truckers, Kickers, Cowboy Angels Vol.04, The Blissed-Out Birth Of Country Rock 1971 (2-CD)

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records


Presseartikel über John Prine - The Singing Mailman Delivers - Early (2-CD)
Kundenbewertungen für "The Singing Mailman Delivers - Early (2-CD)"
Bewertungen werden nach Überprüfung freigeschaltet.
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "John Prine: The Singing Mailman Delivers - Early (2-CD)"

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Zuletzt angesehen