Zurück zur Übersicht
  • Ab 55 € versandkostenfrei (innerhalb DE)
  • DHL Versand - Auslieferung auch Samstags
  • Über 60.000 Artikel direkt ab Lager lieferbar.

James Brown Vol.8, The Singles 1972-1973 (2-CD) Limited

Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn der Artikel lieferbar ist.

Artikel-Nr.: CD0902003

Gewicht in Kg: 0,120


Artikel derzeit nicht verfügbar, Lieferfristen von bis zu 2-3 Wochen sind zu erwarten. (soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten - kann aber auch schneller gehen)

14,95 € *

James Brown: Vol.8, The Singles 1972-1973 (2-CD) Limited

(1971-73 'Polydor/People') (144:06/40)


James Brown - Vol.8, The Singles 1972-1973 (2-CD) Limited Medium 1
1: Nothing Beats A Try But A Fail
2: Hot Pants Road
3: King Heroin
4: Theme From King Heroin
5: Pass The Peas
6: There Is It Pt.1
7: There Is It Pt.2
8: Honky Tonk Pt.1
9: Honly Tonk Pt.2
10: Giving Up Food For Funk Pt.1
11: Giving Up Food For Funk Pt.2
12: Get On The Good Foot Pt.1
13: Get On The Good Foot Pt.2
14: I Got A Bag Of My Own
15: Public Enemy #1
16: I Know It's True
17: I Got Ants In My Pants -Pt.1 mono
18: I Got Ants In My Pants Pts.15&16 mono
19: I Got Ants In My Pants Pt.1 reverb
20: I Got Ants In My Pants Pt.15&16 reverb
21: What My Baby Needs Now Is A Little More Lovin  
22: This Guy - This Girl's In Love With You  
23: Watermelon Man  
24: Down And Out In New York City  
25: Mama's Dead  
26: Sportin' Life  
27: Dirty Harri  
28: The Boss  
29: Like It Is, Like It Was  
30: Doing It To Death  
31: Everybody Got Soul  
32: Think Version 1  
33: Something  
34: Think Version 2  
35: Woman Pt.1  
36: Woman Pt.2  
37: If You Don't Get It The First Time  
38: You Can Get Watergate, Just Gimme Some Bucks  
39: Sexy Sexy Sexy  
40: Slaughter Theme  


Artikeleigenschaften von James Brown: Vol.8, The Singles 1972-1973 (2-CD) Limited

  • Interpret: James Brown

  • Albumtitel: Vol.8, The Singles 1972-1973 (2-CD) Limited

  • Artikelart CD

  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Music Genre Soul
  • Music Style Soul
  • Music Sub-Genre 254 Soul
  • Label HIP-O SELECT

  • SubGenre R&B Music - Soul

  • EAN: 0602527163338

  • Gewicht in Kg: 0.120

Interpreten-Beschreibung "Brown, James"

James Brown with JB's

Always one of soul music‘s leading innovators and by his own nomination The Hardest Working Man in Show Business, James Brown had many a brainstorm. One of the lesser-remembered was the three-part single.

Two-siders were commonplace, but JB’s funk-dripping jams often went so long that they were pressed up on singles in three parts: Part 1 as the A-side, the other two squeezed onto side B. Soul Brother Number 1 used the gimmick on his 1970 R&B chart-topper Super Bad, and he brought it back for Soul Power, cut during an all-night session on January 26, 1971 at Rodel Studios in Washington, D.C. (Brown’s organization was hunkered down at Loew‘s Palace Theater there).

Brown’s band had changed drastically since the days of Papa’s Got A Brand New Bag and Cold Sweat. Saxist Maceo Parker, guitarist Jimmy Nolen, and drummer Clyde Stubblefield had all defected. In their place was a crew that featured brothers Phelps ‘Catfish‘ Collins and William ‘Bootsy‘ Collins driving the funk on guitar and bass. They were abetted by a core group of trusted Brown vets: drummer John ‘Jabo‘ Starks, tenor saxist St. Clair Pinckney, Bobby Byrd on organ and spirited responsorial vocals, and trombonist Fred Wesley, who had been gone for a while but returned to the fold to whip the newcomers into shape.

The Godfather of Soul’s legion of fans didn’t even notice all the uproar in James‘ organization. He started 1971 with the #4 R&B seller Get Up, Get Into It, Get Involved (Part 1) prior to the release of Soul Power, which blasted up to #3 R&B and #29 pop that spring (Wesley stepped out for an extended solo on Part 2, taking Maceo’s place as Brown’s instrumental foil). Over the course of the summer, Brown topped the R&B hit parade twice, with Part 1 of Hot Pants (She Got To Use What She Got, To Get What She Wants) (his biggest pop crossover item of the year, maxing out at #15), and Part 1 of Make It Funky.

By spring, the Collins brothers were off Brown’s payroll, itching to do their own thing and ending up with George Clinton’s Parliament-Funkadelic. James plugged in more talented young players and kept on dishing up the funk. Nobody did it better. 

Various Sweet Soul Music 26 Scorching Classics 1971
Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über James Brown - Vol.8, The Singles 1972-1973 (2-CD) Limited
Kundenbewertungen für "Vol.8, The Singles 1972-1973 (2-CD) Limited"
Bewertungen werden nach Überprüfung freigeschaltet.
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "James Brown: Vol.8, The Singles 1972-1973 (2-CD) Limited"

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Ingram, Luther: I've Been...

Inhalt: 1.0000

17,75 € *

Brown, James: Vol.6, The...

Inhalt: 1.0000

29,90 € *

Zuletzt angesehen