Zurück zur Übersicht
  • Ab 55 € versandkostenfrei (innerhalb DE)
  • DHL Versand - Auslieferung auch Samstags
  • Über 60.000 Artikel direkt ab Lager lieferbar.

Big Jay McNeely King Of The Honkin' Sax

Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn der Artikel lieferbar ist.

Artikel-Nr.: CDJSP4225

Gewicht in Kg: 0,200


Artikel derzeit nicht verfügbar, Lieferfristen von bis zu 2-3 Wochen sind zu erwarten. (soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten - kann aber auch schneller gehen)

19,75 € *

Big Jay McNeely: King Of The Honkin' Sax

(1948-54) (155:39/58)


Big Jay McNeely - King Of The Honkin' Sax Medium 1
1: Wild Wig  
2: Sunday Dinner  
3: Deacon's Groove (Cool Blood)  
4: Man Eater  
5: California Hop  
6: Cherry Smash  
7: The Deacon's Hop  
8: Artie's Jump  
9: Midnight Dreams  
10: Blow Big Jay  
11: Boogie In Front  
12: Willie The Cool Cat  
13: Gingercake  
14: K&H Boogie  
15: Roadhouse Boogie  
16: Hoppin' With Hunter  
17: Tndelayo  
18: Junie-Flip  
19: Jay's frantic  
20: Let's Split  
21: Real Crazy Cool  
22: Deacon's Blowout  
23: Insect Ball  
24: Sad Story  
25: All That Wine Is Gone  
26: Don't Cry Baby  
27: All Brown Woman  
28: Deacon Blows For Ray  
29: Let's Do It (Deacon's Hop)  
30: I'll Never Lov eAgain  
31: Love From The Heart (True Love)  
32: Old Black Mule  
33: Deacon Rides Again  
34: Blow, Blow, Blow  
35: Jay Walk  
36: Night Ride  
37: Jet Fury  
38: Deacon's Express  
39: The Goof  
40: Penthouse Serenade  
41: Just Crazy  
42: Big Jay Shuffle  
43: Third Dimension (3-D) Take 3  
44: Nervous Man Nervous  
45: Rock Candy Take 2  
46: Texas Turkey Take 2  
47: She Don't Work  
48: Hot Cinders  
49: Mule Milk  
50: Ice Water  
51: Whipped Cream  
52: Beach Comber  
53: Let's Work  
54: Strip Tese Swing  
55: Hard Tack  
56: Third Dimension (3-D) Take 2  
57: Rock Candy Take 1  
58: Texas Turkey Take 1  


Artikeleigenschaften von Big Jay McNeely: King Of The Honkin' Sax

  • Interpret: Big Jay McNeely

  • Albumtitel: King Of The Honkin' Sax

  • Artikelart CD

  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Music Genre 936 Honkin' Saxophones
  • Music Style 936 Honkin' Saxophones
  • Music Sub-Genre 936 Honkin' Saxophones
  • Label JSP

  • SubGenre R&B Music - General

  • EAN: 0788065422523

  • Gewicht in Kg: 0.200

Interpreten-Beschreibung "McNeely, Big Jay"

Big Jay McNeely and Band

There Is Something On Your Mind

Big Jay McNeely and Band, vocal by Little Sonny

There Is Something On Your Mind


We last encountered Big Jay McNeely ten years earlier in 1949 when he was honking and squealing his way through Deacon’s Hop. Although his muscular saxophonics had laid the groundwork for rock ‘n’ roll, Jay was sidelined during rock’s early days, and found himself confined to multi-artist tours and club work. He didn’t record at all from 1956 until he cut this. By the time he re-entered the studio, he’d hired Lloyd Price’s former valet, Little Sonny Warner, as a singer. Warner was from Falls Church, Virginia (born October 30, 1930) and began his career imitating Ray Charles. He met McNeely around 1955, and joined him soon thereafter. “Jay bought that song [‘There Is Something On Your Mind’] outright for about $85,” Warner told Dan Kochakian, although when McNeely talked to Bill Millar, he set the price at twenty-five dollars. “[Turner] Rocky Wilson, who sang with the Rivingtons, wrote the song,” said Warner. “Rocky was going with a girl who left him, and he got on the junk and wrote it.” According to McNeely, “Rocky liked Fats Domino and had the tune going like Fats.

I told him, ‘What you need to do is cut everything in half,’ and I slowed everything down and rearranged it. I knew it was gonna be a hit. I wanted to record it with Rocky, but he wanted to get back down South…We recorded it in a guy’s basement after we got off work one night…I told Sonny, ‘Sing the song exactly like it is on Rocky’s tape, no Ray Charles or nothing.’” According to Warner, “We cut it in a basement studio in Seattle in 1957. Tom Ogilvy [who later owned Seafair and Bolo Records in the northwest] arranged for us to do that.

The first time, Jay had it like Fats Domino…but Jay said, ‘You keep trying to find a way to sing it.’ Jay took the song to Hunter Hancock in Los Angeles.” Writing to the Doo-Wop Society of Southern California in 1988, Hancock said, “In 1959 my business partner, Roger Davenport, and I started our own record label, Swingin' Records. Our first release was a homemade tape that Big Jay McNeely, the great saxophonist, brought me called 'There Is Something On Your Mind.’ It was a huge hit for us.“ Indeed it was. According to Warner, Hunter Hancock played the song incessantly, and it became a Top 5 R&B hit and a Top 50 pop hit. Just as it was breaking, Warner was busted for marijuana possession, and remembered hearing the record on the prison sound system. The song, of course, had legs, and became an even bigger hit the following year for Bobby Marchan, and a hit again for Baby Ray in 1966. As a postscript, it appears that Rocky Wilson wrote the song in an apartment belonging to Jacqueline Baldain aka Jackie Day. When she heard the record over the air, she wrote to McNeely asking him where and how he’d acquired it. They corresponded back and forth and married in 1960.


Various - Blowing The Fuse 1959

Classics That Rocked The Jukebox

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über Big Jay McNeely - King Of The Honkin' Sax
Kundenbewertungen für "King Of The Honkin' Sax"
Bewertungen werden nach Überprüfung freigeschaltet.
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Big Jay McNeely: King Of The Honkin' Sax"

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Various: We Got...

Inhalt: 1.0000

29,95 € *

Jackson, Papa...: Why Do You...

Inhalt: 1.0000

15,95 € * Statt: 25,00 € *

Various: Super Rare -...

Inhalt: 1.0000

19,95 € *

Various: Juke Joints...

Inhalt: 1.0000

15,95 € * Statt: 25,00 € *

Various: Masters Of...

Inhalt: 1.0000

15,95 € * Statt: 25,00 € *

Various: Devil's Jump...

Inhalt: 1.0000

15,95 € * Statt: 25,00 € *

Various: Texas Guitar...

Inhalt: 1.0000

9,95 € * Statt: 16,75 € *

Various: Detroit...

Inhalt: 1.0000

15,95 € * Statt: 25,00 € *

Various: New York...

Inhalt: 1.0000

15,95 € * Statt: 25,00 € *

Western Aces: Introducing...

Inhalt: 1.0000

9,95 € * Statt: 15,95 € *

Beck, Jeff: Guitar...

Inhalt: 1.0000

12,95 € *

Condo, Ray & The...: Top Hits!...

Inhalt: 1.0000

15,90 € *

Various: Rockin'...

Inhalt: 1.0000

15,50 € * Statt: 15,50 € *

Zuletzt angesehen