Zurück zur Übersicht
  • Ab 55 € versandkostenfrei (innerhalb DE)
  • DHL Versand - Auslieferung auch Samstags
  • Über 60.000 Artikel direkt ab Lager lieferbar.

THE O'JAYS The Box Set Series (4-CD)

Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn der Artikel lieferbar ist.

Artikel-Nr.: CDL62002

Gewicht in Kg: 0,140


Artikel derzeit nicht verfügbar, Lieferfristen von bis zu 2-3 Wochen sind zu erwarten. (soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten - kann aber auch schneller gehen)

24,95 € *

THE O'JAYS: The Box Set Series (4-CD)

(2014/SONY) 40 tracks

(2014/SONY) 40 tracks



THE O'JAYS - The Box Set Series (4-CD) Medium 1
1: Love Train  
2: Back Stabbers  
3: 992 Arguments  
4: Time To Get Down  
5: Put Your Hands Together  
6: One Night Affair  
7: Deeper (In Love With You)  
8: I Should Be Your Lover  
9: Livin' For The Weekend, Pt 1-2  
10: I Love Music, Pt 1-2  
THE O'JAYS - The Box Set Series (4-CD) Medium 2
1: Let Me Make Love To You  
2: Stairway To Heaven, Pt 1-2  
3: Sunshine, Pt 1  
4: Cry Together  
5: Who Am I  
6: Listen To The Clock On The Wall  
7: You Got Your Hooks In Me  
8: Brandy  
9: Help (Somebody Please)  
10: Lovin' You  
THE O'JAYS - The Box Set Series (4-CD) Medium 3
1: For The Love Of Money, Pt 1-2  
2: Give The People What They Want  
3: When The World's At Peace  
4: Don't Call Me Brother  
5: Ship Ahoy  
6: Survival  
7: Rich Get Richer  
8: The Big Gangster  
9: Message In Our Music  
10: Unity  
THE O'JAYS - The Box Set Series (4-CD) Medium 4
1: Darlin' Darlin' Baby (Sweet, Tender, Love)  
2: Use Ta Be My Girl  
3: Forever Mine  
4: My Favorite Person  
5: Sing A Happy Song  
6: Put Our Heads Together  
7: Now That We Found Love  
8: This Time Baby  
9: Family Reunion  
10: Emotionally Yours  


Artikeleigenschaften von THE O'JAYS: The Box Set Series (4-CD)

  • Interpret: THE O'JAYS

  • Albumtitel: The Box Set Series (4-CD)

  • Artikelart CD

  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Music Genre Soul
  • Music Style Soul
  • Music Sub-Genre 254 Soul
  • Erscheinungsjahr 2014
  • Label SONY

  • SubGenre R&B Music - Soul

  • EAN: 0888430620025

  • Gewicht in Kg: 0.140

Interpreten-Beschreibung "O'Jays, The"

The O'Jays

Back Stabbers

The O'Jays

Back Stabbers


Like The Chi-Lites, The O’Jays tried several group names on for size before their manager, Cleveland deejay Bobby O’Jay, granted them permission to use his moniker. Even then, it took a long time for the group to crash the bigtime, and a couple of members fell by the wayside before it happened.

When they formed in Canton, Ohio in 1957 at McKinley High School, the group dubbed itself The Triumphs, and there were five of them: Eddie Levert (born June 16, 1942), Walter Williams (born August 25, 1943; he and Eddie had sung spirituals together), William Powell (born January 20, 1942), Bobby Isles, and Bill Massey. A name switch to the Mascots preceded their first pair of releases on Cincinnati-based King Records in 1960, The Story Of My Heart and then Lonely Rain. Fledgling producer Don Davis was behind Miracles, their initial Detroit-cut outing as The O’Jays, which progressed from tiny Daco Records (Davis co-owned it) to fast-fading Apollo in ’61.

Los Angeles producer H.B. Barnum picked up the reins after that, recording The O’Jays for his Little Star imprint in 1963. Imperial Records picked up their How Does It Feel for national consumption. It didn’t hit, but the atmospheric Lonely Drifter, penned by Eddie and Walter, became their first national pop chart entry that fall on Imperial. The quintet made more 1965-66 hits for Imperial: a revival of Benny Spellman’s Lipstick Traces (On A Cigarette), Let It All Out, and Stand In For Love. Isles exited the group in 1966 (he was never replaced), the group moving over to Larry Uttal’s Bell imprint and posting the #8 R&B seller I’ll Be Sweeter Tomorrow (Than I Was Today) the next year. Look Over Your Shoulder and The Choice charted for them in ’68.

But things weren’t going that great for the O’Jays. They were considering throwing in the towel when The Intruders, their co-stars on an Apollo Theatre bill, recommended they contact Philly writer/producers Kenny Gamble and Leon Huff. Pacted to the duo’s Neptune label, they scaled the R&B hit parade in ’69 with One Night Affair and Branded Bad and the pounding Deeper (In Love With You) and Looky Looky (Look At Me Girl) in ’70. When Neptune went belly up, Gamble and Huff launched Philadelphia International Records. Massey wouldn’t be there; he returned to Cleveland and segued into writing and producing.

Placing their full arsenal of musical weapons at The O’Jays’ disposal, Gamble and Huff came up with a brilliant piece of material for their Philly International debut. The ominous, shimmering Back Stabbers was penned by Huff along with staffers Gene McFadden and John Whitehead, who would pace the R&B hit parade themselves in 1979 with their duet Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now. Back Stabbers was the first song Whitehead ever wrote. He and McFadden collaborated on it in the Philly projects where they both lived, then brought it in to piano man Huff at the label’s offices.

Thom Bell arranged Back Stabbers, cut at Sigma Sound in the spring of ’72 with Philly Sound mainstays Bobby Eli, Norman Harris, and Roland Chambers on guitars, bassist Ronnie Baker, drummer Earl Young, organist Lenny Pakula, and Huff on the 88s. Slick and classy, it proved The O’Jays’ first R&B chart-topper late that summer and vaulted to #3 pop. Three members was all they needed.


- Bill Dahl -

Various - Sweet Soul Music 25 Scorching Classics From 1972

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über THE O'JAYS - The Box Set Series (4-CD)
Kundenbewertungen für "The Box Set Series (4-CD)"
Bewertungen werden nach Überprüfung freigeschaltet.
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "THE O'JAYS: The Box Set Series (4-CD)"

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Zuletzt angesehen