Zurück zur Übersicht
  • Ab 55 € versandkostenfrei (innerhalb DE)
  • DHL Versand - Auslieferung auch Samstags
  • Über 60.000 Artikel direkt ab Lager lieferbar.

Margaret Whiting Collector's Edition (3-CD)

Collector's Edition (3-CD)

Artikel-Nr.: CDACTR9031

Gewicht in Kg: 0,300


Sofort versandfertig, Lieferzeit** 1-3 Werktage

19,95 € *

Margaret Whiting: Collector's Edition (3-CD)

Video von Margaret Whiting - Collector's Edition (3-CD)

(2011/Acrobat) 87 tracks 1942-60.
Margaret Whiting, who died in January 2011 at the age of 85, probably never achieved as exalted a place in the pantheon of jazz and easy listening vocalists as she deserved. Quite why that was is hard to say - maybe the fact that, as the daughter of successful songwriter Richard Whiting, she got her start in the business via his relationship with Johnny Mercer, who had just founded Capitol Records, rather than paying her dues slogging round sleazy clubs, played against her. Maybe, also, her flirtation with country music in the '50s muddied the perception of her artistic integrity. Whatever the case, suffice to say that she was nevertheless a singer who has had a solid following of loyal fans who appreciate her versatility and effortless ability to interpret the classic repertoire of the day. In her many hits of the '40s with Capitol, her voice is uncannily reminiscent of both Ella Fitzgerald and Peggy Lee, which can hardly be a bad thing, while her country outings for the Dot label are equally evocative of the great performers of that genre. This collection, which was well in preparation at the time of her demise, is designed not as a definitive anthology of her work, but primarily to make available some of the many excellent recordings she made which have not been released or widely distributed on CD, and in the process trace the best and most important of her work during her most active years. It includes, on CD1 and the start of CD2, the majority of her hits for Capitol through to the early ?50s, including some fairly rare material, and on the rest of CD2 and CD3, includes the entirety of her Dot albums from the 1950s, 'Goin? Places', an excellent big band-based collection, 'Just A Dream', her country-oriented escapade, and 'Great Hits', re-recordings of her early material, which make an interesting comparison. In addition, there are selected tracks from her 1960 LP 'Margaret Whiting Sings The Jerome Kern Songbook'. We hope it is a collection that aficionados will welcome for a variety of reasons, and with nearly 90 tracks it should satisfy the most avid of fans.

many DOT recordings incl.'Top Of The Moon' a.o.!



Margaret Whiting - Collector's Edition (3-CD) Medium 1
1: My Ideal  
2: Moonlight In Vremont  
3: That Old Black Magic  
4: It Might As Well Be Spring  
5: In Love In Vain  
6: All Through The Day  
7: Come Rain Or Come Shine  
8: Along With Me  
9: Passe  
10: Guilty  
11: Oh, But I Do  
12: Little Girl Blue  
13: Ask Anyone Who Knows  
14: Old Devil Moon  
15: You Do  
16: Lazy Countryside  
17: Let's Be Sweethearts Again  
18: Pass That Peace Pipe  
19: What's Good About Goodbye  
20: Now Is The Hour  
21: Please Don't Kiss Me  
22: St. Louis Blues  
23: The Gypsy In My soul  
24: A Tree In The Meadow  
25: Far Away Places  
26: Forever And Ever  
27: Comme Ci Comme Ca  
28: A Wonderful Guy  
29: Baby, It's Cold Outside  
30: Slippin' Around  
31: The Gods Were Angry With Me  
32: My Foolish Heart  
33: Let's Go To Church (Next Sunday Morning)  
34: Blind Date  
35: I've Never Been In Love Before  
36: The Moon Was Yellow (And The Night Was Long)  
37: A Bushel And A Peck  
38: Good Morning Mister Echo  
39: Outside Of Heaven  
40: Come Back To Me, Johnny  
41: Where Did He Go?  
42: Waltz To The Blues  
43: An Affair Of The Heart  
44: My Own True Love  
45: The Money Tree  
46: The Party's Over  
47: That's Why I Was Born  
48: Kill Me With Kisses  
49: The Waiting Game  
50: There Are Such Things  
51: I'm Alone Because I Love You  
52: Top Of The Moon  
53: Just A Dream  
54: Speak For Yourself  
55: Pretty Eyed Baby  
56: I Cried For You  
57: Hot Spell  
58: You'll Never Know  
59: The Gypsy I´n My Soul  
60: Sentimental Journey  
61: Any Place I Hang My Hat Is Home  
62: I'm Gnna Move To The Outskirts Of Town  
63: Gone With The Wind  
64: Runnin' Wild  
65: Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea  
66: Over The Rainbow  
67: Hit The Road To Dreamland  
68: East Of The Sun  
69: Song Of The Wanderer  
70: Home  
71: It Might As Well Be Spring  
72: A Tree In A Meadow  
73: A Wonderful Guy  
74: My Ideal  
75: Come Rain Or Come Shine  
76: Baby, It's Cold Outside  
77: That Old Black Magic  
78: Moonlight In Vermont  
79: Now Is The Hour  
80: Slippin' Around  
81: Faraway Places  
82: My Foolish Heart  
83: Guilty  
84: Let's Go To Church (Next Sunday Morning)  
85: Smoke Gets In Your Eyes  
86: Dearly Beloved  
87: Long Ago And Far Away  


Artikeleigenschaften von Margaret Whiting: Collector's Edition (3-CD)

  • Interpret: Margaret Whiting

  • Albumtitel: Collector's Edition (3-CD)

  • Artikelart CD

  • Genre Pop

  • Music Genre Pop
  • Music Style Pop Vocal
  • Music Sub-Genre 281 Pop Vocal
  • Erscheinungsjahr 2011
  • Label ACROBAT

  • SubGenre Pop - Vocal Pop

  • EAN: 0824046903121

  • Gewicht in Kg: 0.300
Presseartikel über Margaret Whiting - Collector's Edition (3-CD)
Kundenbewertungen für "Collector's Edition (3-CD)"
Bewertungen werden nach Überprüfung freigeschaltet.
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Margaret Whiting: Collector's Edition (3-CD)"

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Brooks, Garth: Christmas...

Inhalt: 1.0000

14,95 € *

Whiting, Margaret: The Wheel Of...

Inhalt: 1.0000

14,95 € * Statt: 19,95 € *

Lee, Peggy: The Best Of...

Inhalt: 1.0000

7,95 € *

Wakely, Jimmy &...: Till We Meet...

Inhalt: 1.0000

9,95 € * Statt: 14,95 € *

Zuletzt angesehen