Zurück zur Übersicht
  • Ab 55 € versandkostenfrei (innerhalb DE)
  • DHL Versand - Auslieferung auch Samstags
  • Über 60.000 Artikel direkt ab Lager lieferbar.

Chuck Willis The Complete Recordings 1951-1957 (3-CD)

The Complete Recordings 1951-1957 (3-CD)

Artikel-Nr.: CDJSP2303

Gewicht in Kg: 0,300


Sofort versandfertig, Lieferzeit** 1-3 Werktage

15,95 € *

Chuck Willis: The Complete Recordings 1951-1957 (3-CD)

(2009/JSP) 78 tracks 1951-57


Willis, Chuck - The Complete Recordings 1951-1957 (3-CD) CD 1
1: Disc 1
2: Can't You See
3: It Ain't Right To Treat Me Wrong
4: Be Good Or Be Gone
5: Let's Jump Tonight
6: I Rule My House
7: I Tried (To Get Along With You)
8: It's Too Late Baby
9: Here I Come
10: Loud Mouth Lucy
11: My Story
12: Caldonia
13: Wrong Lake To Catch A Fish
14: Salty Tears
15: Going To The River
16: Baby Have Left Me Again
17: Don't Deceive Me (Please Don't Go)
18: I've Been Treated Wrong Too Long
19: When My Day Is Over
20: My Baby's Coming Home
21: You're Still My Baby
22: What's Your Name
23: I Feel So Bad
24: Need One More Chance
25: Change My Mind
26: My Heart's Been Broken Again
27: Give And Take
28: I've Been Away Too Long
29: Disc 2
30: Love Struck
31: Lawdy Miss Mary
32: One More Break
33: I Can Tell
34: Search My Heart
35: Ring Ding Doo
36: Come On Home
37: If I Were You
38: Two Spoons Of Tears
39: Charged With Cheatin'
40: My Baby's On My Mind
41: Take It Like A Man
42: Keep A Knockin'
43: If I Had A Million
44: You Broke My Heart (You Know You Don't...)
45: Make Up Your Mind
46: You Win This Time
47: I Don't Mind If I Do (There Was A Time)
48: Blow Mr Jackson
49: Welcome Home
50: Peace And Love
51: Search My Heart
52: Bless Her Heart (Break My Rule)
53: Night Of Misery
54: It's Too Late
55: What's Your Name
56: Disc 3
57: It's Too Late
58: Kansas City Woman
59: Juanita
60: Whatcha Gonna Do When Your Baby Leaves You
61: Ease The Pain
62: C.C.Rider
63: The Train Has Gone
64: Love Me Cherry
65: Betty And Dupree
66: My Crying Eyes
67: What Am I Living For
68: Hang Up My Rock And Roll Shoes
69: Thunder And Lightnin'
70: My Life
71: You'll Be My Love
72: Keep A Drivin'
73: There Is Got To Be A Way
74: Stop And Think
75: From The Bottom Of My Heart
76: Just One Kiss
77: I'll Be So Glad When Your Heart I Mine
78: Big Drops Of Rain
79: Sugar Sugar
80: Love Of Loves
81: My Baby


Artikeleigenschaften von Chuck Willis: The Complete Recordings 1951-1957 (3-CD)

  • Interpret: Chuck Willis

  • Albumtitel: The Complete Recordings 1951-1957 (3-CD)

  • Artikelart CD

  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Music Genre Rhythm & Blues
  • Music Style Rhythm & Blues
  • Music Sub-Genre 251 Rhythm & Blues
  • Label JSP

  • SubGenre R&B Music - Classic R&B

  • EAN: 0788065230326

  • Gewicht in Kg: 0.300

Interpreten-Beschreibung "Willis, Chuck"

Chuck Willis

What Am I Living For

Much, perhaps too much, has been made of the fact that two of the last songs Chuck recorded were What Am I Living For? and Hang Up My Rock And Roll Shoes. The same fuss was made when Hank Williams was in the charts with I'll Never Get Out Of This World Alive on the day he died. Neither of Chuck's songs, nor Hank's for that matter, portended death. What Am I Living For? was a rather touching love song, co-written by Fred Jacobson (aka Fred Jay) who’d co-written LaVern Baker’s I Cried A Tear.  A month or so after the session, Chuck fell ill after eating some barbecue.

He tried to put off an operation that would remove seventy percent of his stomach, but finally agreed to it. He was operated on at the Hugh Spaulding Hospital in Atlanta, and came home to recuperate shortly afterward. He was rushed back a week later coughing blood. He seemed to recover a little but suffered a relapse and died around 2:30 AM on Thursday April 10, 1958. "He was the rhythm 'n' blues Hank Williams," said Danny Kessler, who recorded him for OKeh. Atlanta dee-jay Zenas Sears, who’d long sponsored Willis, remembered how bad he looked the last time he’d seen him. "The operation was long overdue," he said. "He just knew he was gonna die from [it].

I guess if you feel that strongly about something, maybe it's just bound to happen." The IRS was less sentimental; he died owing unpaid taxes on his bandmembers' salaries, and that's probably where most of the proceeds from this huge posthumous hit went.

Various - Blowing The Fuse 1958 - Classics That Rocked The Jukebox

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records


Presseartikel über Chuck Willis - The Complete Recordings 1951-1957 (3-CD)
Kundenbewertungen für "The Complete Recordings 1951-1957 (3-CD)"
Bewertungen werden nach Überprüfung freigeschaltet.
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Chuck Willis: The Complete Recordings 1951-1957 (3-CD)"

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Various: I Hate...

Inhalt: 1.0000

15,95 € *

Various: Vol.7, Where...

Inhalt: 1.0000

15,95 € *

Various: Vol.5, Early...

Inhalt: 1.0000

15,95 € *

Miller, Clint: At A Teenage...

Inhalt: 1.0000

15,50 € *

Cooley, Eddie &...: Fever...

Inhalt: 1.0000

15,50 € *

Hawkins,...: Screamin'...

Inhalt: 1.0000

15,95 € * Statt: 16,95 € *

Reynolds, Jody: Endless Sleep

Inhalt: 1.0000

17,50 € *

Zuletzt angesehen