Zurück zur Übersicht
  • Ab 55 € versandkostenfrei (innerhalb DE)
  • DHL Versand - Auslieferung auch Samstags
  • Über 60.000 Artikel direkt ab Lager lieferbar.

Luke McDaniel Daddy O Rock

Daddy O Rock
Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn der Artikel lieferbar ist.

Artikel-Nr.: LPBLK7715

Gewicht in Kg: 0,200


Artikel derzeit nicht verfügbar, Lieferfristen von bis zu 2-3 Wochen sind zu erwarten. (soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten - kann aber auch schneller gehen)

14,50 € *

Luke McDaniel: Daddy O Rock

(1996/Hydra) 24 tracks. Luke McDaniel hat großartige Songs geschrieben und aufgenommen. Die Bandbreite geht von klassischen Country Songs und Hillbilly-Rockern mit Fiddle und Steelguitar bis zu wilden Rockabilly-Nummern mit wilder Leadgitarre, mitreißendem Saxophon und rockendem Piano. Begleittext auf der Coverrückseite von Wayne Russell. Sehr empfehlenswert!

(1996/Hydra) 24 tracks.



Luke McDaniel - Daddy O Rock Medium 1
1: Whoa Boy  
2: Daddy-O-Rock  
3: Hey Woman  
4: Switch Blade Sam  
5: Foxy Dan  
6: Uh-Huh-Huh  
7: Hard Luck  
8: Bottoms Up  
9: I'm Tired Of These Country Ways  
10: Bye Bye Daddy  
11: Foxy Dan  
12: You're Still On My Mind  
13: Homeward Mule  
14: I Can't Go  
15: For Old Times Sake  
16: Money Bag Woman  
17: Let Me Be A Souvenir  
18: Drive On  
19: The Automobile Song  
20: Honey Won't You Please Come Home  
21: Living In A House Of Sin  
22: One More Heart  
23: Crying My Heart Out For You  
24: Hurts Me So  


Artikeleigenschaften von Luke McDaniel: Daddy O Rock

  • Interpret: Luke McDaniel

  • Albumtitel: Daddy O Rock

  • Artikelart LP

  • Genre Rock 'n' Roll

  • Music Genre Country Music
  • Music Style Vinyl - Country
  • Music Sub-Genre 551 Vinyl - Country
  • Plattengröße LP (12 Inch)
  • Geschwindigkeit 33 U/min
  • Record Grading Mint (M)
  • Sleeve Grading Mint (M)
  • Label HYDRA

  • SubGenre Rockabilly

  • EAN: 4016030000060

  • Gewicht in Kg: 0.200

Interpreten-Beschreibung "McDaniel, Luke"

LUKE McDANIEL always stood high among rockabilly fans for Whoa Boy, a seminal proto-rockabilly number from 1952 on Trumpet Records. Luke Jefferson McDaniel was born in Laurel, Mississippi on February 3, 1927, and grew up in Ellisville, just north of New Orleans.

He formed a hillbilly band in the 1940s, and first recorded in June 1952 (the aforementioned Whoa Boy). His last shot on Trumpet came with a Hank Williams tribute (McDaniel had opened one of Hank's last shows, and that was sufficient proximity to inspire A Tribute To Hank Williams, My Buddy). In 1953, he moved to WKAB in Mobile, Alabama, and a local star, Jack Cardwell, helped him land a King Records deal. From there, McDaniel went to the Louisiana Hayride which gave him a backstage pass at rockabilly's birth. By then, he was recording for Mel-a-Dee Records in New Orleans, but after working a show with Elvis and Carl Perkins, he took their advice and went to Sun. By this point, he was writing songs with Jimmie Otto Rogers (a distant relative of the blue yodeller, Jimmie Rodgers), and they'd already written one rockabilly classic, Midnight Shift.

McDaniel and Rogers arrived at Sun in September 1956. The first session, at which McDaniel recorded Go Ahead, Baby, was on September 4th or 5th and featured an unknown group probably led by guitarist Brad Suggs. A second session was held in January 1957. It featured a saxophonist, and probably Roland Janes on guitar. My Baby Don't Rock came from the second session. McDaniel expected to get Musicians Union scale for the sessions, but Phillips saw them as demo sessions and wouldn't pay. The two argued outside the studio, and McDaniel's already slim chance of getting on Sun was reduced to nil. He went on to record the hillbilly classic You're Still On My Mind for Venus Records.

Starday's Pappy Daily heard it and gave it to George Jones, who elevated it to the top rung of beerhall classics. Jimmie Rogers reckoned that he had cowritten You're Still On My Mind, and he and McDaniel split. Rogers went on to produce two singles for Sun by the Teenangels and the Quintones. McDaniel had some ongoing success as a songwriter. Honey, Won't You Please Come Home was covered by Jim Reeves, and Carl Perkins cut Foxy Dan, but his involvement in the music business declined after the Sixties. He died on December 2, 1998.

read more
Various - That'll Flat Git It! Vol.16 Rockabilly From The Vaults Of SUN Records

Presseartikel über Luke McDaniel - Daddy O Rock
Kundenbewertungen für "Daddy O Rock"
Bewertungen werden nach Überprüfung freigeschaltet.
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Luke McDaniel: Daddy O Rock"

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Wise Guyz, The: Bop And...

Inhalt: 1.0000

8,50 € *

McDaniel, Luke: Go Ahead...

Inhalt: 1.0000

14,50 € *

Various: Groovie...

Inhalt: 1.0000

17,95 € *

Various: Nashville...

Inhalt: 1.0000

17,95 € *

McDaniel (Jeff...: Mississippi...

Inhalt: 1.0000

15,75 € *

Various: Like Wow -...

Inhalt: 1.0000

12,50 € *

Zuletzt angesehen