Der Artikel wurde erfolgreich hinzugefügt.

The Moonglows Look, It's The Moonglows (CD, Cut-Out)

Jetzt probehören:
13,45 € * 14,95 € * (10,03% gespart)

inkl. MwSt. / zzgl. Versandkosten - Abhängig vom Lieferland kann die MwSt. an der Kasse variieren.

nur noch 1x verfügbar
Sofort versandfertig, Lieferzeit** 1-3 Werktage

  • CD126722
  • 0.1
(MCA Records) 12 tracks mehr

The Moonglows: Look, It's The Moonglows (CD, Cut-Out)

(MCA Records) 12 tracks

Artikeleigenschaften von The Moonglows: Look, It's The Moonglows (CD, Cut-Out)

  • Interpret: The Moonglows

  • Albumtitel: Look, It's The Moonglows (CD, Cut-Out)

  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Artikelart CD

  • Label MCA Records

  • EAN: 0076731126722

  • Gewicht in Kg: 0.1
Moonglows - Look, It's The Moonglows (CD, Cut-Out) CD 1
01 Love Is A River The Moonglows
02 Blue Velvet The Moonglows
03 This Is Love The Moonglows
04 When I'm With You The Moonglows
05 I'll Stop Wanting You The Moonglows
06 Don't Say Goodbye The Moonglows
07 Ten Commandments Of Love The Moonglows
08 Kiss Me Baby The Moonglows
09 Penny Arcade The Moonglows
10 Mean Old Blues The Moonglows
11 Sweeter Than Words The Moonglows
12 Cold Feet The Moonglows
The Moonglows Mama Loocie Harvey Fuqua was still leading his Moonglows, but he'd... mehr
"The Moonglows"

The Moonglows

Mama Loocie

Harvey Fuqua was still leading his Moonglows, but he'd turned the veteran group over. Bobby Lester, who fronted the Cleveland-based quartet on their "blow harmony”-powered smash Sincerely for Chess (you'll encounter it on our 1954 disc) and many more of their mid-'50s classics, was gone. So were bass Prentiss Barnes, tenor Alexander Walton (aka Pete Graves), and guitarist Billy Johnson.

Following the success of The Moonglows' '58 hit Ten Commandments Of Love, Fuqua cut 'em loose. He put out Chess solo singles simply billed as Harvey, including Don't Be Afraid Of Love (he lip-synched it in the 1959 film 'Go, Johnny Go!') and worked with Etta James as she developed into an interpreter of torch standards. And he transformed a Washington, D.C. group, The Marquees, into the new Moonglows.

The Marquees weren't without studio experience, having waxed Wyatt Earp for OKeh in 1957 with Bo Diddley's combo backing. Tenor Reese Palmer fronted both sides, backed by second tenor/baritone James Nolan, bass Chester Simmons (both formerly with The Rainbows), and young tenor/baritone Marvin Gay (the 'e' on the end of his surname came later). Simmons approached Fuqua about his group at the Howard Theater in D.C.; since the Moonglows were in the process of imploding, Harvey was happy to take the young group over. Dells bass singer Chuck Barksdale was added too.

The six-man outfit cut six sides for Chess in 1959 as Harvey & The Moonglows, the label issuing the rocking Mama Loocie - marking Marvin's first time as lead tenor - late in the year with a Fuqua-led Unemployment on the flip. But the liaison didn't last for long. By early '60, Nolan and Palmer were gone, Barksdale returning to The Dells. One more single later in the year, and Harvey mothballed The Moonglows.

Fuqua took Gaye up to Detroit, where Marvin signed with Motown and commenced a journey to superstardom. Harvey married Berry Gordy's sister Gwen and established the Tri-Phi and Harvey labels, eventually absorbed by Motown (Fuqua became a Motown house producer, later teaming with Johnny Bristol). Harvey remained an industry mover and shaker until his July 6, 2010 passing. Lester died in October of 1980, while Barnes passed October 1, 2006. Gaye was shockingly shot to death by his father on April 1, 1984.


Various - Street Corner Symphonies 1960 Vol.12

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Bewertungen lesen, schreiben und diskutieren... mehr
Kundenbewertungen für "Look, It's The Moonglows (CD, Cut-Out)"
Bewertung schreiben
Bewertungen werden nach Überprüfung freigeschaltet.

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Weitere Artikel von The Moonglows
Moonglows - Look, It's The Moonglows (CD, Cut-Out) CD 1
01 Love Is A River
02 Blue Velvet
03 This Is Love
04 When I'm With You
05 I'll Stop Wanting You
06 Don't Say Goodbye
07 Ten Commandments Of Love
08 Kiss Me Baby
09 Penny Arcade
10 Mean Old Blues
11 Sweeter Than Words
12 Cold Feet