Zurück zur Übersicht
  • Ab 55 € versandkostenfrei (innerhalb DE)
  • DHL Versand - Auslieferung auch Samstags
  • Über 60.000 Artikel direkt ab Lager lieferbar.

SPIDERS The Imperial Sessions (2-CD)

Artikel-Nr.: BCD15673

Gewicht in Kg: 0,210


Sofort versandfertig, Lieferzeit** 1-3 Werktage

29,95 € *

SPIDERS: The Imperial Sessions (2-CD)

2-CD mit 36-seitigem Booklet, 47 Einzeltitel. Spieldauer ca. 111 Minuten.

New Orleans war nicht besonders bekannt für Gesangsgruppen. Die Ausnahme waren die Spiders. Zwischen 1953 und 1960 nahmen sie mit unglaublichen Studio-Bands unter Leitung von Dave Bartholomew 46 Stücke für Imperial auf. Bartholomew selbst sagte, dass der Leadsänger der Spiders Chuck Carbo die beste Stimme, die in den letzten dreißig Jahren aus New Orleans kam, sei. Hier sind die Originalversionen von
I Didn't Want To Do It, You're The One und Witchcraft (später u.a. von Elvis und Johnny 'Guitar' Watson aufgenommen) sowie 43 andere Songs - viele davon feiern ihr Debüt auf einer CD

2-CD mit 36-seitigem Booklet, 47 Einzeltitel. Spieldauer ca. 111 Minuten.



SPIDERS - The Imperial Sessions (2-CD) Medium 1
1: I Didn't Want To Do It
2: You're The One
3: For A Thrill
4: Mellow Mama
5: Lost And Bewildered (Slowly Loosing My Mind)
6: Tears Begin To Flow (Sneaky Pete)
7: Why Do I Love You
8: Love's All I'm Puttin' Down
9: I'll Stop Crying
10: Mmm Mmm Baby (Hey Baby)
11: I'm Slipping In
12: Mmm Mmm Baby
13: Walking Around In Circles
14: I'm Searchin'
15: The Real Thing
16: She Keeps Me Wondering
17: 21 (3x7=21)
18: That's Enough
19: Sukey, Sukey, Sukey
20: Bells In My Heart
21: Am I The One
22: Don't Knock
23: John The Revelator
24: Bye And Bye
SPIDERS - The Imperial Sessions (2-CD) Medium 2
1: (True) You Don't Love Me
2: Witchcraft  
3: You Played The Part  
4: Is It True (A Little Bird Told Me)  
5: How I Feel  
6: That's The Way To Win My Heart  
7: Goodbye  
8: I'll Be Free  
9: Don't Pity Me  
10: Dear Mary  
11: A-1 In My Heart  
12: Without Love  
13: Someday Bye And Bye  
14: That's My Desire  
15: Better Be On My Way  
16: Honey Bee  
17: I'm Glad For Your Sake  
18: Poor Boy  
19: The Bells Are Ringing  
20: I Miss You  
21: Times  
22: You're The One  
23: Tennessee Slim  


Artikeleigenschaften von SPIDERS: The Imperial Sessions (2-CD)

  • Interpret: SPIDERS

  • Albumtitel: The Imperial Sessions (2-CD)

  • Artikelart CD

  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Music Genre R&B, Soul
  • Music Style Vocal Groups / Doo Wop
  • Music Sub-Genre 255 Vocal Groups/Doo Wop
  • Label Bear Family Records

  • Preiscode BH
  • SubGenre R&B Music - Classic R&B

  • EAN: 4000127156730

  • Gewicht in Kg: 0.210

Interpreten-Beschreibung "Spiders"

The Spiders

The Spiders

You're The One

New Orleans wasn't exactly renowned for its overload of resident R&B vocal groups. The Crescent City seemingly preferred solo singers to front its infectious second-line rhythms. But a few good ones called the Big Easy home, none better or more commercially prosperous than The Spiders.

The Spiders revolved around brothers Hayward 'Chuck' Carbo (born January 11, 1926), second tenor and lead, and Leonard 'Chick' Carbo (born December 28, 1927), bass and lead, both born in Houma, Louisiana before their religious family moved to New Orleans in 1932. Gospel was their first love; during the late '40s, they joined The Zion Harmonizers, where they encountered baritone Matthew 'Mac' West (born March 8, 1926) and bass Oliver Howard. Along with first tenor Joe Mixon, they put together The Delta Southernaires during the early '50s, securing a weekly program on WWEZ radio.

Their big break came in late '53 when Leonard was overheard playing the piano of Phyllis Boone while moving her belongings. Boone worked for Cosimo Matassa, whose J&M Studio was the only such facility in New Orleans; everyone from Fats Domino and Smiley Lewis to Lloyd Price and Shirley & Lee cut hits there. The Southernaires auditioned for Matassa with a gospel number, Bye And Bye, but Cos asked them to change it to a blues if they had any interest in recording.

"There was a religious group that I converted to pop, the Spiders," says Matassa, who would manage the newcomers with Boone.

The Southernaires huddled with local guitarist Adolph Smith. He wrote them two gems: the luxurious You're The One and a risqué I Didn't Want To Do It. Though reluctant to enter the secular arena, the group - named The Spiders by Chuck's wife Gloria, who noticed a spider shimmying up their garage wall - cut Smith's songs at a December 11, 1953 J&M session for Lew Chudd's L.A.-based Imperial Records. Chuck fronted both tunes (a pair of spirituals were cut but shelved), backed by Cosimo's house band, including tenor saxist Lee Allen and drummer Earl Palmer.

Both sides of The Spiders' Imperial debut were smashes. I Didn't Want To Do It broke first in February of '54, shooting up to #3 on 'Billboard's' R&B 'Juke Box' and 'Best Seller' charts. You're The One followed a similar trajectory that April, stopping at #8 on the 'Best Seller' and #9 on the 'Juke Box' lists. Despite hoping to remain in the gospel field, The Southernaires were toast on that front the second local deejay Jack the Cat let it slip on the air that they were The Spiders. They wouldn't have had much time to musically praise the Lord anyway. With their two-sided hit, The Spiders were instantly the Crescent City's top R&B group.


--Bill Dahl

Various - Street Corner Symphonies Vol.05, 1953 The Complete Story Of Doo Wop

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über SPIDERS - The Imperial Sessions (2-CD)
Kundenbewertungen für "The Imperial Sessions (2-CD)"
Bewertungen werden nach Überprüfung freigeschaltet.
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "SPIDERS: The Imperial Sessions (2-CD)"

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Zuletzt angesehen