Zurück zur Übersicht
  • Ab 55 € versandkostenfrei (innerhalb DE)
  • DHL Versand - Auslieferung auch Samstags
  • Über 60.000 Artikel direkt ab Lager lieferbar.

Stanley Brothers Starday-King Years 1958-61 (4-CD)

Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn der Artikel lieferbar ist.

Artikel-Nr.: CDGT2207

Gewicht in Kg: 0,210


Artikel derzeit nicht verfügbar, Lieferfristen von bis zu 2-3 Wochen sind zu erwarten. (soweit verfügbar beim Lieferanten - kann aber auch schneller gehen)

24,95 € *

Stanley Brothers: Starday-King Years 1958-61 (4-CD)

(2011/GUSTO) 103 tracks w.32 page booklet.


Stanley Brothers - Starday-King Years 1958-61 (4-CD) CD 1
1: Holiday Pickin'
2: Gonna Paint The Town
3: That Happy Night
4: Christmas Is Near
5: Love Me Darlin', Just Tonight
6: She's More To Be Pitied
7: Heaven Seemed So Near
8: Your Selfish Heart
9: How Mountain Girls Can Love
10: The Memory Of Your Smile
11: Mastertone March
12: Clinch Mountain Backstep
13: Midnight Ramble
14: Train 45
15: Think Of What You've Done
16: Keep A Memory
17: Old Daniel Prayed
18: He Said If I Be Lifted Up
19: This Wicked Path Of Sin
20: Are You Afraid To Die
21: The White Dove
22: How Can We Thank Him
23: Mother's Footsteps Guide Me
24: That Home Far Away
25: My Lord's Gonna Set Me Free
26: The Angel Of Death
27: Wings Of Angels
28: Suwanee River Hoedown
Stanley Brothers - Starday-King Years 1958-61 (4-CD) CD 2
1: Choo Choo Coming
2: Carolina Mountain Home
3: Trust Each Other
4: Beneath The Maple
5: Highway Of Regret
6: A Little At A Time
7: Another Night
8: Ridin' That Midnite Train
9: Mountain Dew
10: Sunny Side Of The Mountain
11: Tragic Romance
12: Shenandoah Waltz
13: Next Sunday Darling Is My Birthday
14: Sweet Thing
15: Sweeter Than The Flowers
16: It's Raining Here This Morning
17: Shackles And Chains
18: Weepin' Willow
19: Old Rattler
20: I'm A Man Of Constant Sorrow
21: My Main Trail Is Yet To Come
22: Mother Left Me Her Bible
23: Jacob's Vision
24: I'll Not Be A Stranger
25: From The Manger To The Cross
Stanley Brothers - Starday-King Years 1958-61 (4-CD) CD 3
1: Purple Robe
2: When Jesus Beckons Me Home
3: Jordan
4: Pass Me Not
5: Lonely Tombs
6: Over The Gloryland
7: How Far To Little Rock
8: A Few More Seasons
9: When We'll Never Die
10: In Heaven, We'll Never Grow Old
11: Mother No Longer Awaits Me
12: If I Lose
13: Little Maggie
14: God Gave You To Me
15: Don't Go Out Tonight
16: The Darkest Hour Is Just Before Dawn
17: Hank Strangers
18: Let The Church Roll On
19: Rock Of Ages (Let Me Hide Myself In Thee)
20: I Saw The Light
21: What A Friend We Have In Jesus
22: Gathering Flowers For The Master's Bouquet
23: I'm Ready To Go
Stanley Brothers - Starday-King Years 1958-61 (4-CD) CD 4
1: Let Me Love You One More Time
2: Little Benny
3: Old Love Letters
4: Daybreak In Dixie (Undubbed Version)
5: Daybreak In Dixie (Overdubbed Version)
6: Wildwood Flower
7: Let Me Rest
8: Are You Tired Of Me Darling
9: Finger Poppin' Time (Undubbed Version)
10: Finger Poppin' Time (Overdubbed Version)
11: Rank Strangers (alt.)
12: Come All Ye Tender Hearted
13: Lover's Quarrel
14: The Story Of The Lawson Family
15: Jenny Lynn
16: Little Willie
17: Big Tilda
18: Wild Bill Jones
19: You're Still To Blame
20: I'll Take The Blame
21: I'll Just Go Away
22: Steel Guitar Rag
23: I'd Worship You
24: Just Dreamin'
25: The Drunken Driver
26: Little Joe
27: Handsome Molly


Artikeleigenschaften von Stanley Brothers: Starday-King Years 1958-61 (4-CD)

  • Interpret: Stanley Brothers

  • Albumtitel: Starday-King Years 1958-61 (4-CD)

  • Artikelart CD

  • Genre Country

  • Label GUSTO

  • SubGenre Country - Bluegrass

  • EAN: 0792014220726

  • Gewicht in Kg: 0.210

Interpreten-Beschreibung "Stanley Brothers"

Stanley Brothers

The Stanley Brothers are among the least likely candidates to try to rock. If Carter and Ralph Stanley appear here, can Pavarotti be far behind? The back story to this track is not clear. It's likely the recording took place sometime between the spring and summer of 1960, when this song by Hank Ballard and the Midnighters began a run on the 'Billboard Best Seller'list that lasted for half a year. The song was hugely popular. It likely would have been known to the Stanley Brothers without any help from King label boss Syd Nathan.

Nathan might have helped since he was fond of sharing copyrights between his artists, moving hits across genre lines. Hank Ballard and the Midnighters were King artists as were the Stanley Brothers and so it could have come to pass that the Stanleys took a shot at this, perhaps as a joke at the tail end of their session. It's hard to rule it out. We do know that the undubbed master of this song features Carter and Ralph Stanley singing with banjo, bass and acoustic guitar. The timing is ragged and it sounds quite demo-ish. The released version, which we have chosen here, features the addition of echoey finger snaps that provide a more commercial product and nudge the performance more decidedly in the direction of rock 'n' roll.

We don't know whose fingers were doing the snapping (one story on the web has James Brown doing it. It might just as easily have been Carter or Ralph, themselves). In any case, this track goes to show that even a 'pure' bluegrass act can be edged in the direction of rock 'n' roll. The distance is often shorter than you think.

Stanley Brothers & Clinch Mountain Boys, 1953-58 & 1959 (2-CD)
Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über Stanley Brothers - Starday-King Years 1958-61 (4-CD)
Kundenbewertungen für "Starday-King Years 1958-61 (4-CD)"
Bewertungen werden nach Überprüfung freigeschaltet.
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Stanley Brothers: Starday-King Years 1958-61 (4-CD)"

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Kershaw, Doug: Face To Face

Inhalt: 1.0000

14,95 € *

Yonder Mountain...: Black Sheep

Inhalt: 1.0000

14,95 € *

Earle, Steve: Low Highway

Inhalt: 1.0000

16,95 € *

Lauderdale, Jim: Lost In The...

Inhalt: 1.0000

15,95 € *

Stanley Brothers...: Country...

Inhalt: 1.0000

15,95 € * Statt: 21,95 € *

Stanley Brothers: Bully Of The...

Inhalt: 1.0000

7,95 € * Statt: 14,95 € *

Zuletzt angesehen