Zurück zur Übersicht
  • Ab 55 € versandkostenfrei (innerhalb DE)
  • DHL Versand - Auslieferung auch Samstags
  • Über 60.000 Artikel direkt ab Lager lieferbar.

FOUR JACKS 1957-1964 (4-CD)

1957-1964 (4-CD)

Artikel-Nr.: CDEMI311473

Gewicht in Kg: 0,230


Sofort versandfertig, Lieferzeit** 1-3 Werktage

39,95 € *

FOUR JACKS: 1957-1964 (4-CD)

(2005/EMI DENMARK) 113 tracks with 32 page booklet


Four Jacks - 1957-1964 (4-CD) CD 1
1: Den Vilde Vind
2: Slentre Gennem Regn
3: Et Smil Og En Sang
4: Glendora
5: Nar Lygterne Taendes
6: Livet Far Mening
7: Rock-A-Billy
8: Den Fredlose
9: No Dice
10: Cowboy Blues
11: Mama Look A Boo Boo
12: When It's Long-Handle Time In Tennessee
13: Pa En I Oceanet
14: Let Woman Go
15: De Var Engang En Julenat
16: En Dejlig Dag
17: Da Rock And Roll Kom Til Trinidad
18: Vagn Op, Lille Susie
19: Eselsangen
20: Dagbogen
21: 26 Mil
22: Sail Along Silvery Moon
23: Hoj I Hatten
24: Kun Vaere To!
25: Tom Dooley
26: Milano Rose
27: Tom Dooley
28: Ciao Ciao, Bambina
29: Drommen Om Dig
Four Jacks - 1957-1964 (4-CD) CD 2
1: Please Drop Me A Line
2: No, Never Again
3: Waterloo
4: Personality
5: De Glade Rensdyr
6: Bare Man Har Det Godt
7: Alene I Dalen
8: Tennessee Waltz
9: La Bella
10: O Marie, Jeg Vil Hjem
11: Tapre Orn
12: Volare
13: You, You, You
14: Big Bouquet Of Roses
15: Sometimes I'm Happy
16: The Donkey Serenade
17: Make Love To Me
18: She'll Be Comin' 'Round The Mountain
19: My Prayer
20: Shine On, Harvest Moon
21: La Malaguena
22: Look For The Silver Lining
23: Farewell (For Just A While)
24: Kom Til Alaska
25: Det Var Pa Capri
26: Mandalay
27: Jens Hansens...
28: Mandalay
Four Jacks - 1957-1964 (4-CD) CD 3
1: Mytteriet Pa Bounty
2: Drommen Om Idaho
3: Himlens Klare Stjerner
4: Smil, Ah Smil
5: Anne Mari
6: Aloha Oe
7: Jeg Drommer Mig Tilbage Til Den Gamle Pavillo
8: Mod Mig I Nat I Dromme
9: Hor Min Sang, Violetta
10: Solvtrade I Dit Gyldne Har
11: Svarte Rudolf
12: Manden Pa Risten
13: Hal Op Og Lad Ga
14: Min Vej Er Lykkens Vej
15: Tjener Jeg Er Torstig
16: Bla Mandag
17: 76 Tromboner
18: Skraeddervise
19: Cool Water
20: Your Cheatin' Heart
21: Loddy-Lo
22: Der Er En Vej
23: Cin Cin
24: Alle Og Enhver Ka' Bli' Forelsket
25: Bevar Mig Vel
26: Regn, Regn, Regn
27: Se Op, Stil Hojt
28: Dromme
Four Jacks - 1957-1964 (4-CD) CD 4
1: Den Vildfarne Beduin
2: Hjemme
3: Folg Med Mig
4: Tom Dooley
5: The Story Of Bounty
6: Medley:
7: O Marie, Jeg Vil Hjem
8: Mandalay
9: Waterloo
10: Eselsangen
11: O Marie, Jeg Vil Hjem
12: Medley:
13: If You Knew Susie
14: Dinah
15: Medley:
16: Thanks For The Memories
17: Shine On, Harvest Moon
18: Heart Of My Heart
19: Ave Maria No Morro
20: Jeg Drommer Mig Tilbage Til Den Gamle Pavillo
21: Man Kan Vaske Alt I Sulfo
22: Remember You
23: Cool Water
24: Kom Du Store Pruhest
25: Godnat Men Ikke Farvel
26: Old McDonald Had A Farm
27: Cantina
28: South Of The Border
29: Smorbrod Calypso
30: Island In The Sun
31: Back To Back
32: Fire Down Below
33: Ma, He's Making Eyes At Me
34: Lupito Mambo
35: Piger
36: Der Er Bedst Hos Dig
37: Stjernevognen
38: Boom-A-Ladda Boom Boom
39: Five Minutes More


Artikeleigenschaften von FOUR JACKS: 1957-1964 (4-CD)

  • Interpret: FOUR JACKS

  • Albumtitel: 1957-1964 (4-CD)

  • Artikelart CD

  • Genre Pop

  • Music Genre Pop
  • Music Style Pop Vocal
  • Music Sub-Genre 281 Pop Vocal
  • Label EMI

  • SubGenre Pop - Vocal Pop

  • EAN: 0094631147326

  • Gewicht in Kg: 0.230

Interpreten-Beschreibung "Four Jacks"

The Four Jacks

The Four Jacks

The Last Of The Good Rocking Men

During their brief time in the spotlight on Syd Nathan's Cincinnati-based Federal Records (1952 was the extent of it), The Four Jacks provided tasty vocal backing for three female vocalists as well as committing two singles of their own to tape. Bass singer Ellison White (formerly with gospel's pioneering Wings Over Jordan Choir), first tenor Bowling Mansfield, second tenor Buell Thomas, and baritone George Comford comprised the short-lived quartet.


The Four Jacks debuted on Federal with a pairing of their own, You Met A Fool b/w Goodbye Baby. That June, the logo released a single starring Shirley Haven on one side and Cora Williams on the other, the Jacks backing both. Federal also released another single that same month placing the Jacks behind Lil Greenwood (on Monday Morning Blues, the entire crew was joined by piano-playing bluesman Little Willie Littlefield) that had been done on April 28 in Los Angeles. The Haven, Williams, and Greenwood sides were all reportedly cut on the same day.

In July, Federal issued The Four Jacks' encore release The Last Of The Good Rocking Men, flipped with the sentimental I'll Be Home Again, both fronted by White. Cut on March 18, 1952, The Last Of The Good Rocking Men features White rakishly promoting himself as a romantic rival to The Dominoes' Lovin' Dan of Sixty-Minute Man fame, striking a similarly swinging tone.

The quartet of listed songwriters on The Last Of The Good Rocking Men are an intriguing lot. Ralph Bass was Federal's A&R man and producer of Sixty-Minute Man. Mario DeLagarde was a busy L.A. bassist who played on Greenwood's session, and Rick Darnell was a West Coast songsmith whose credits included co-writing Roy Hawkins' 1951 hit The Thrill Is Gone, a blockbuster for B.B. King almost two decades down the line. As for the Ray Charles Robinson listed as their collaborator: soon-to-be-star Ray Charles' actual surname was indeed Robinson, so who knows? Brother Ray switched his recording home from Swing Time to Atlantic in 1952 and was still scuffling, so anything's possible.

October brought more Jacks-backed offerings on Federal by Shirley - a two-sider this time - and Lil (the jumping Grandpa Can Boogie Too, a DeLagarde/Darnell copyright done at that April 28 date), but no more singles by the quartet itself. By the dawn of 1953, The Four Jacks had disappeared from Federal's roster. Thomas went solo and made five singles for Dootsie Williams' L.A.-based DooTone imprint.

Bill Dahl

Various - Street Corner Symphonies Vol.04

1952 The Complete Story Of Doo Wop

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über FOUR JACKS - 1957-1964 (4-CD)
Kundenbewertungen für "1957-1964 (4-CD)"
Bewertungen werden nach Überprüfung freigeschaltet.
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "FOUR JACKS: 1957-1964 (4-CD)"

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Zuletzt angesehen