Zurück zur Übersicht
  • Ab 55 € versandkostenfrei (innerhalb DE)
  • DHL Versand - Auslieferung auch Samstags
  • Über 60.000 Artikel direkt ab Lager lieferbar.

Wanda Jackson The Ultimate Collection (2-CD)

The Ultimate Collection (2-CD)

Artikel-Nr.: CD3971202

Gewicht in Kg: 0,120


Sofort versandfertig, Lieferzeit** 1-3 Werktage

Statt: 14,90 € * (33.22 % gespart)
9,95 € *

Wanda Jackson: The Ultimate Collection (2-CD)

(2007/EMI) 48 tracks Capitol 1956-70 with 12 page booklet


Wanda Jackson - The Ultimate Collection (2-CD) Medium 1
1: I Gotta Know  
2: Right Or Wrong  
3: In The Middle Of A Heartache  
4: If I Cried Every Time You Hurt Me  
5: Slippin´  
6: The Violet And The Rose  
7: The Box It Came In  
8: Tears Will Be The Chaser For Your Wine  
9: Both Sides Of The Line  
10: A Girl Don´t Have To Drink To Have Fun  
11: My Big Iron Skillet  
12: A Woman Lives For Love  
13: Fancy Satin Pillows  
14: My Baby Walked Right Out On Me  
15: Two Separarte Bar Stools  
16: Crazy  
17: Jackson (Live)-With Mike Post  
18: Long Legged Guitar Pickin´Man-With Mike Post  
19: Singing The Blues  
20: You Win Again  
21: Cold, Cold Heart  
22: Silver Threads And Golden Needles  
23: Funny How Time Slips Away  
24: I´m So Lonesome I Could Cry  
25: Let´s Have A Party  
26: Hat Dog! That Made Him Mad  
27: Fujiyama Mama  
28: Money Honey  
29: Brown Eyed Handsome Man  
30: Long Tall Sally  
31: Hard Headed Woman  
32: Lonely Weekends  
33: Memphis, Tennessee  
34: Whole Lot Of Shakin´Goin´On  
35: Honey Don´t  
36: Candy Man  
37: Rip It Up  
38: Riot In Cell Block Number Nine  
39: Stupid Cupid  
40: Slippin´And Slidin´  
41: My Baby Left Me  
42: Who Shot Sam  
43: Kansas City  
44: Mean, Mean Man  
45: It Doesn´t Matter Anymore  
46: Jambalaya (On The Bayou)  
47: Honey Bop  
48: Yakety-Yak  


Artikeleigenschaften von Wanda Jackson: The Ultimate Collection (2-CD)

  • Interpret: Wanda Jackson

  • Albumtitel: The Ultimate Collection (2-CD)

  • Artikelart CD

  • Genre Rock 'n' Roll

  • Music Genre Rock 'n' Roll
  • Music Style Rock & Roll
  • Music Sub-Genre 201 Rock & Roll
  • Erscheinungsjahr 2007
  • Label EMI

  • SubGenre Rock - Rock'n'Roll

  • EAN: 0094639712021

  • Gewicht in Kg: 0.120

Interpreten-Beschreibung "Jackson, Wanda"

Wanda Jackson

Geboren am 20. 10. 1937 als Wanda Jean Goodman in Maud, U5-Staat Oklahoma. Arbeitete ab 1952 für den Sender KLPR in Oklahoma City. 1954 erhielt Wanda Jackson, auf Empfehlung des Country-Sängers Hank Thompson, einen Plattenvertrag bei Decca. Zwei Jahre später traf sie Elvis Presley, der ihr einen stilistischen Wechsel vom Country & Western zum Rock'n'Roll empfahl. 

Ab 1956 nahm Wanda Jackson für das Capitol-Label auf und brachte in den folgenden Jahren rund 30 Titel in die C&W- Charts der USA. In den Pop-Hitlisten war sie dagegen lediglich fünfmal vertreten, darunter 1960 mit 'Let's Have A Party' (Platz 37). In den Kölner Electrola-Studios im Maarweg spielte Wanda Jackson zwischen 1965 und 1970 neun deutschsprachige Singles ein- vier schafften den Sprung in die Charts, am besten platzierte sich “Santo Domingo' (1965, Rang 5).

Während der 70er Jahre widmete sich die Amerikanerin auch christlicher Musik. Heute ist Wanda Jackson vereinzelt bei Revival-Tours zu hören, kommt aber zu gefeierten Kurzgastspielen in eigener Sache über den Teich - wie im Herbst 2002, als sie ihren 65. Geburtstag in Deutschland feierte.

Aus dem Bear Family Buch - 1000 Nadelstiche von Bernd Matheja - BFB10025 -


Wanda Jackson

Tears Will Be The Chaser For Your Wine

Wanda Jackson

Tears Will Be The Chaser For Your Wine

(Dale Davis-LeRoy Goates)

recorded April 19, 1966 (Session #13069; 18:00-21:00) Columbia Recording Studio, 804 16th Avenue South; Nashville, Tennessee; Producer: Ken Nelson

with Wanda Jackson: vocal; Harold Ray Bradley: rhythm guitar; Thomas Grady Martin: lead guitar; Lloyd L. Green: steel guitar; Weldon M. Myrick: Dobro; Bob L. Moore: bass; Murrey M.'Buddy' Harman, Jr: drums; Charles R. 'Charlie' McCoy: French harp; Floyd Cramer or Hargus M. 'Pig' Robbins: piano; The Jordanaires, Mildred 'Millie' Kirkham, Mary John: vocal chorus

Capitol 5789 - master 54142-7

Although Wanda Jackson was a star in Germany with songs she'd learned phonetically and didn't understand, she was nearly invisible at home, singing songs she understood all too well. Most of her showdates were in Reno and Vegas lounges, together with some seasonal fair dates. Once or twice a year, she'd go to Nashville to meet her A&R man, Ken Nelson. She had been under contract to Capitol since 1956, but she'd placed just two records in the Country Top 10 and three in the pop Top 40. Pressure from Capitol's European parent might have been the only reason she was still on the label. Tears Will Be The Chaser For Your Wine was recorded in April 1966, and released at year's end. It featured both steel guitar and Dobro.

Two steel guitarists, Lloyd Green and Weldon Myrick, were listed on the session, so Myrick probably played the Dobro. Tears Will Be the Chaser was a song Wanda had found back home in Oklahoma. The cowriter, Dale Davis (aka Dale Siegenthaler), had kicked around the music scene since the late 1950s, briefly owning and recording for Stardale Records, a label that once had rockabilly freaks digging deep in their pockets. (Stardale was one of those labels that assigned different catalog numbers to the A & B sides of its records, just to ensure no one ordered them). Later, Davis wrote Marvin Rainwater's late-blooming Scandinavian hit, Henryetta Oklahoma. No one could handle these heartbreak songs better than Wanda. Her wounded small-town-girl innocence, offset by an ever-so-slightly sluttish voice, was a beguiling combo that should have made her a bigger star. As she saw Tammy Wynette rising fast, Wanda could have been excused for thinking it should have been her.

- Colin Escott -

Various Country & Western Hit Parade 1967

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über Wanda Jackson - The Ultimate Collection (2-CD)
Kundenbewertungen für "The Ultimate Collection (2-CD)"
Bewertungen werden nach Überprüfung freigeschaltet.
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Wanda Jackson: The Ultimate Collection (2-CD)"

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Quinn, Freddy: Junge, komm...

Inhalt: 1.0000

9,95 € * Statt: 12,95 € *

Francis, Connie: Connie's...

Inhalt: 1.0000

8,95 € * Statt: 14,95 € *

Various - Bear...: All We Wanna...

Inhalt: 1.0000

4,95 € *

Zuletzt angesehen