Zurück zur Übersicht
  • Ab 55 € versandkostenfrei (innerhalb DE)
  • DHL Versand - Auslieferung auch Samstags
  • Über 60.000 Artikel direkt ab Lager lieferbar.

The Ravens Long Live Rock'n'Roll (CD)

Long Live Rock'n'Roll (CD)
Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn der Artikel lieferbar ist.

Artikel-Nr.: CDQSE1

Gewicht in Kg: 0,107

23,95 € *

The Ravens: Long Live Rock'n'Roll (CD)

(1991/QSE Records) 16 Tracks. Dampfhammer Rock'n'Roll und Boogie vom Feinsten - mit Wild Bob Burgos, Dave Briggs & Rob Murly!

Featuring Wild Bob Burgos!



The Ravens - Long Live Rock'n'Roll (CD) Medium 1
1: It's Been A Long Time
2: Yo Yo Man
3: Highwayman
4: Ms Blues
5: High Tuned Baby
6: Beware Of The Hound
7: Everybody's Movin'
8: High Tuned
9: Lonesome Train
10: Fire Of Love
11: Into The Night
12: Good Rockin' Daddy
13: T Bone Shuffle
14: Angel Of Love
15: Flip Flop And Fly
16: Long Live Rock'n'Roll


Artikeleigenschaften von The Ravens: Long Live Rock'n'Roll (CD)

  • Interpret: The Ravens

  • Albumtitel: Long Live Rock'n'Roll (CD)

  • Artikelart CD

  • Genre Rock 'n' Roll

  • Erscheinungsjahr 1991

  • SubGenre Rockabilly

  • EAN: 5019148601159

  • Gewicht in Kg: 0.107

Interpreten-Beschreibung "Ravens, The"

The Ravens

The Ravens

Rock Me All Night Long

Despite wholesale personnel changes since their late '40s breakthrough, The Ravens were hanging in there. Cut in June of 1952 at New York's Fine Recording Studios and released the next month, Rock Me All Night Long, penned by mighty bass singer Jimmy Ricks and Ravens pianist Bill Sanford, was their first platter to chart in two-and-a-half years, rising to #4 R&B. It was a thoroughly swinging affair, Ricks and his crew in a boisterous frame of mind and their studio pianist pounding out a great extended solo. Paired with a cover of Joe Liggins' Write Me One Sweet Letter, it was a typically strong release, one of their first for Chicago's Mercury Records following their exit from Columbia the previous autumn.

Ricks was the only original Raven left. Joe Van Loan was now their high tenor, Jimmy Steward their second tenor, and Louis Frazier their baritone. As long as Ricks was on board, The Ravens' trademark sound stayed reasonably intact. The New York-based quartet would make more fine recordings for Mercury, but none of them pierced the charts. Ricks would cut the occasional solo platter, and he got itchy feet now and then; Detroiter Tommy Evans of The Carols (see our 1950 collection) was his replacement for a six-month stretch in '54.

The Ravens moved over to Jerry Blaine's Jubilee Records in 1955 and made some nice singles, notably Green Eyes, before Ricks packed it in to pursue a solo career in early '56. Evans came back to shoulder a very heavy load; Ricks was nothing less than the most important bass singer in R&B vocal group history. The closest Jimmy ever came to notching a solo hit (he cut for a string of companies, including Baton, Decca, Felsted, Atco, Fury, Mainstream, Sure Shot, and Jubilee) was a 1961 duet on Atlantic with LaVern Baker, I'll Never Be Free (the sexy flip You're The Boss is better remembered today).

Van Loan led a splinter group of Ravens to the Chess subsidiary Argo in 1956, Ricks' crucial spot filled by Big Bob Kornegay of The Du Droppers and then former King Odom Quartet/Larks bass David 'Boots' Bowers. An unwise cover of Buddy Holly and The Crickets' That'll Be The Day surfaced in 1957. By the first days of '59, the quartet that kick-started the R&B vocal group revolution was no more. Ricks died July 2, 1974, his role as a rhythm and blues pioneer all too often overlooked.

Bill Dahl

Various - Street Corner Symphonies Vol.04

1952 The Complete Story Of Doo Wop

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über The Ravens - Long Live Rock'n'Roll (CD)
Kundenbewertungen für "Long Live Rock'n'Roll (CD)"
Bewertungen werden nach Überprüfung freigeschaltet.
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "The Ravens: Long Live Rock'n'Roll (CD)"

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Ravens: Born Rockers

Inhalt: 1.0000

16,95 € *

Zuletzt angesehen