Zurück zur Übersicht
  • Ab 55 € versandkostenfrei (innerhalb DE)
  • DHL Versand - Auslieferung auch Samstags
  • Über 60.000 Artikel direkt ab Lager lieferbar.

Sonny West Big City Woman (CD & 7inch 45RPM)

Artikel-Nr.: CDSR019

Gewicht in Kg: 0,120


Sofort versandfertig, Lieferzeit** 1-3 Werktage

17,95 € *

Sonny West: Big City Woman (CD & 7inch 45RPM)

(2010/SLEAZY) 14+2 tracks (36:11) 7'Gatefold/Klappcover. New studio album, recorded in Madrid with a cast of young rockabillies plus a reproduction of his genius Nor-Va-Jak single from 1956. Great Set!


Sonny West - Big City Woman (CD & 7inch 45RPM) Medium 1
1: Big City Woman  
2: That's All She Wrote  
3: Broken Hearted  
4: Sweet Rockin' Baby  
5: Long Time With The Wine  
6: Rock-Ola Ruby  
7: Rave On  
8: I've Had It  
9: Where Am I  
10: Oh Boy  
11: Call Me The Breeze  
12: Mambo Cut Boogie  
13: Sugar Hill  
14: Single:  
15: Sweet Rockin' Baby  
16: Rock-Ola Ruby  


Artikeleigenschaften von Sonny West: Big City Woman (CD & 7inch 45RPM)

  • Interpret: Sonny West

  • Albumtitel: Big City Woman (CD & 7inch 45RPM)

  • Artikelart CD

  • Genre Rock 'n' Roll

  • Music Genre Rock 'n' Roll
  • Music Style Rock & Roll
  • Music Sub-Genre 201 Rock & Roll
  • Erscheinungsjahr 2010
  • Label SLEAZY

  • SubGenre Rock - Rock'n'Roll

  • EAN: 8436022623613

  • Gewicht in Kg: 0.120

Interpreten-Beschreibung "West, Sonny"


Joe aka Sonee aka Sonnee aka Sonny West was from Buddy Holly's hometown of Lubbock, Texas (born June 30, 1937), but he grew up homesteading in New Mexico, Texas, and California. "We've all heard stories of poor people being sharecroppers," he told Marc Bristol, "but my dad must have been a rung lower on the ladder." Along the way, Sonny acquired a guitar, learned a few chords, assembled a band, and gigged around west Texas. He drove to Memphis to audition for Sun, but Sam Phillips wouldn't even let him unpack his guitar, saying he had more artists than he could handle.

A few months later, in the summer of 1956, Sonny went to Buddy Holly's producer, Norman Petty, with Rock-Ola Ruby (a sort-of follow-up to Warren Smith's Rock 'n' Roll Ruby), and Petty issued it on Nor-Va-Jak Records. In the spring of '57, Sonny met Bill Tilghman. "I was driving through Levelland," he told Marc Bristol, "and here comes this guy walking out in the middle of the street calling me. He had some papers in his hip pocket and said he'd written some songs. He was tall and skinny, like a bean pole, with a slight limp from a car accident. Before I could answer him, he was humming some tune and doing a shuffle with his feet. He was in the zone I was in, and had a great desire to write." Tilghman and West cooperated first on Oh Boy, a song that ended up in the hands of Buddy Holly, of course.

Later, they worked up another song based on an exclamation, Rave On! Tilghman told John Goldrosen that he based it on the line "Rave on, children, I'm with you" in Carl Perkins' Dixie Fried. Sonny cut it with Trini Lopez's band, the Big Beats, in November 1957 (November 5, per John Ingman). As Sonny explained to John Stafford, "Norman Petty had contacted Jerry Wexler and told him of his idea for me and the Big Beats to record together. Wexler didn't like the idea, but owing to Norman's recent successes, he decided to try it. I didn't like the idea, either, but I felt I had to go with it." The session was done in Clovis, and Atlantic purchased the master on January 10, 1958. Wexler flew to Clovis to collect the tape, and released it in mid-February.

"I guess if my record would've sold, Buddy probably wouldn't have recorded it," Sonny told Derek Glenister,"but he and Norman liked the song and had a session lined up and needed some new material." Holly actually recorded Rave On! before Sonny's version was issued, although his record wasn't released until April 20. Holly's record wasn't even much of a hit in the USA (#37 in 'Billboard'), but Rave On! together with Oh Boy have probably funded Sonny's retirement. Wexler had an option on more Sonny West records, but didn't exercise it, and three years passed before Sonny recorded again.

Presseartikel über Sonny West - Big City Woman (CD & 7inch 45RPM)
Kundenbewertungen für "Big City Woman (CD & 7inch 45RPM)"
Bewertungen werden nach Überprüfung freigeschaltet.
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Sonny West: Big City Woman (CD & 7inch 45RPM)"

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Ric & The Dukes: Here I Am -...

Inhalt: 1.0000

9,95 € *

Dragtones, The: Ding...

Inhalt: 1.0000

9,50 € *

Wild Goners: Complete...

Inhalt: 1.0000

14,95 € *

Zuletzt angesehen